We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dinner”

Farnsworth House Tavern
Ranked #16 of 131 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

FOR SURE - order the Pork Shank or the Game Pie. The menu description does not do these menu options justice. The pork meat literally falls off the bone and there was a great deal of meat in the game pie. In truth, I could not tell which pieces were the turkey, duck and pheasant, but it did not matter...it was great.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    450
    342
    204
    124
    97
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Game Pie- TO DIE FOR”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Intimate lighting, fair pricing and a sensational menu, unchanged in the 30 years I have been dining there, Farnsworth House is a terrific way to rest your weary legs after a full day of touring the battlefield. They gratuitously added a ghost tour there and that keeps the place hopping at the end of dinner service, as they suddenly discovered Gho$t$ there recently (lol). The souvenier menus on scented yellow parchment are a dandy keepsake and the spoon bread beats Colonial Williamsburg.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank expo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeast Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Dependable!”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

We tend to gravitate towards the Farnsworth House Tavern every time we are in Gettysburg, The food is excellent and service is great. My husband ordered the mashed potatoes and meatloaf dinner and while I was enjoying my baked potato soup and salad I noted he had already finished his meal! I did get a small taste of the meat loaf and had to agree with him that it was quite good.
The vegetarian diner in our party was able to order from the childrens menu where two options listed were available to those who choose not to eat meat. Don't miss the Farnsworth House
Tavern for dinner or lunch while in Gettysburg.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nautical70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landenberg, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere both inside and outside”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

My husband and I sat outside in the Beer Garden on Friday and went back to sit inside at the Tavern bar on Saturday night. The same bartender waited on us during both of our visits there and was friendly and gave us some good recommendations on things to do and places to see in the area. I ordered a fruit and cheese platter Saturday as I have dietary restrictions which the menu did not accommodate very well; howevever, the atmosphere is cosy both inside and outside of the Inn, and I would definitely go back there for drinks again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LizRN5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A great Gettysburg restaurant experience”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

This restaurant is a great place to eat after spending a long day exploring Gettysburg. They serve some pretty unique historical dishes which we really appreciated. When you go to a place like Gettysburg, its nice not to have the the history end at dinnertime. Make sure to enjoy the side dishes that come with the meal, like spoon bread and pickled watermelon rind. Try everything! As for the menu, try some of the more unusual dishes. We did and it was delicious and fun. This restaurant is not cheap but the prices seemed fair

We sat outside as the weather permitted. While we were not inside, it was nice to sit outside and enjoy the atmosphere.

The building itself is really interesting. Look for bullet holes in the bricks!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank trisarahtopss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farnsworth House Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Farnsworth House Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing