We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not too bad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Farnsworth House Tavern

Farnsworth House Tavern
Ranked #14 of 128 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Baltimore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“not too bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Nice and clean, we ate inside. different menu from outside. food good, was going to order a burger, saw one delivered to a table next to us, not a big burger for the money. Had the open beef sandwitch with gravy found it good. Very good wings!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anyroadanytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    313
    193
    118
    91
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great place to stop and grab a beer on the patio”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

We didn't go inside the tavern, but sat outside and drank a beer while people-watching. The neat thing about this place is the bullet holes from the battle are still in the brick at the end of the tavern.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank fromroyalty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“lovely outdoor setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Love to eat outside in the summer and this little spot is charming nestled under trees and beside a little bubbling brook. The prices are a tad high, but the food and very attentive service is worth it. Nice selection of lunch and dinner foods. After first night of dining, we decided to share a meal the second night because the portions were very large, too much so for us. The servers dress in period costumes and take their job very seriously.
Within walking distance to shops and museums so convenient location.
Highly recommend this establishment. It has much history as well. Bullet holes in walls of the building from the Battle of Gettysburg.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cordoba29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Joy, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not Family Friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

When I saw the words, "Family Friendly" on the Tavern sign I thought this would be a great, convenient place to have dinner before our ghost tour at the Farnsworth House. Let me first say that our waitress was wonderful and the adult meals were good and reasonably priced...I asked if there was a children's menu and was told they still have one but it was taken off of the printed menu. The server told us the choices that all came with apple sauce, no fries. When we got our check, I was unpleasantly surprised that a child meal containing 3 chicken strips and a small cup of apple sauce was almost $10! I normally don't complain, but I just had to say something about this. If you are going to charge almost $10 for a small child meal, it should be listed on the menu! It felt as though the tavern takes the approach that it okay b/c it is a tourist town without a high rate of repeat customers. Well, we are from Lancaster County and go to Gettysburg at least every couple of years, but will not be visiting the Sweeny Tavern for dinner again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Beach, Alabama
Level Contributor
168 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Just Ok Food but great atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

I had the open face roast beef sandwich....now I usually have that when I go places it is offered and it is usually piled high with meat and gravy. This was thinly sliced roast that was tough. I had the sweet bread with apple butter and it was good. I love the atmosphere of the place but would not eat there again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Meddena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farnsworth House Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Farnsworth House Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing