We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”

Farnsworth House Tavern
Ranked #17 of 130 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Joliet, IL
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Staff was efficient and friendly, but the food wasn't anything outstanding considering the price. Located within walking distance of several shops.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank demmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    448
    340
    204
    124
    97
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ramsey
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What happened?”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My son's and I have been dining at the Farnsworth House for years. Since they were little. The dining experience in the dining room was always a fantastic experience. Which is why we always returned.
This Sept 1st was my older son's 40th birthday. He chose to return to Gettysburg and have his birthday dinner at the Farnsworth House.
Upon calling to make a reservation, we were denied our chosen time of 7:30 and we were told we could come at 7:00. However, the entire time we were in the diningroom, the two rooms remained more than half empty. They were not exactly booked,
Some of the wait staff acted as though they were on the work release program and actully watching and listening to them assiting other tables, was like being at a comedy club live floor show. Our server brought me a dirty wine glass. Although we were not half way into our main courses, she asked us if we were ready for dessert. When we did finish dinner, and ordered dessert and coffee, she only half cleared our dinner service . Salad plates, bread and butter plates, utensils, side dishes remained on the table while we ate our desserts. What was amusing , another table ordered the blue moon cocktail. Much to the tables polite amusement,the server stood at that table and sang the song Blue Moon to them.
The captive audience shook their heads. She asked the couple next to us "have we filled you up yet?" They had only gotten thru their soup. I could go on but you get the amusement. However, we did'nt want the diner waitress experience and we ran up quite a heafty check.

My roasted half chicken was fantastic. The chicken is moist , tender and perfectly seasoned, The guys had the game pie. They enjoyed their dishes. The fritters, of course are a must.
We could have skipped the desserts and should have gone on to an ice creme shop. I ordered the dessert special cherry crisp. Which was nothing more than canned cherry pie filling in a bowl and some sort of crust on top and it was cold

Hopefully, the complaints from the next table to the server will be passed onto the owner as promised,
I hope the owner reads this review and brings back the Farmsworth House to the the restaurant it use to be and match the service quality with prices.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank antchalas1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Good Place to Eat”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband and I have been coming to Gettysburg since 1975, and this is one of our favorite places to eat lunch. One can either eat lunch or dinner at the tavern, or dinner in the main house (different menu for their dinner) from 5 PM on. One can also eat in the garden during the summer and nice weather in the spring and fall. (If you eat lunch in the garden, you will get the tavern menu and if you eat dinner in the garden, you will get the main dining room menu.)
We ate our lunch in the tavern over Labor Day weekend, and the food was very good. I had the turkey hot sandwich with mashed potatoes and my husband had the chef's salad. We did not have dessert this time, but in times past we have had one of their pies or cakes and those are very good. The main dining room has unique southern dishes such as peanut soup and spoon bread. ( a favorite of mine). The ambience and history of this place is worth a visit. During filming of the movie Gettysburg, many of the cast made this place their adopted tavern, which is explained in the tavern menu. There are memorabilia to see from that movie, which the cast donated. The service here has always been fast, when we visited.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dergenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newark, de
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A great place to grab lunch”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

THe sandwiches and soups are fresh and good. The atmosphere is pleasant with friendly waitstaff and lotd of props from the movie "Gettysburg". Have been here many times and never disappointed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank xiolung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Slow service, inept waiter, tiny portions”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We went here during the 4th of July week. We didn't expect great service, we got far less. The waiter had to be asked several times to bring drinks for one of our diners that he neglected to serve. The inside, where we dined, was not crowded when we ordered. The waiter seemed to be preoccupied with something other than serving customers. When the meal finally arrived, the main course portions were smaller than appetizers at other establishments.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TimJansante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farnsworth House Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Farnsworth House Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing