We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Patio, decent food”

Farnsworth House Tavern
Ranked #17 of 130 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Fayetteville, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Pleasant Patio, decent food”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had an enjoyable patio-dining experience on the patio at the Farnsworth House Inn/Tavern. The weather was warm, overcast and threatening, but under the cover of the patio roof and trees there was a comfortable atmosphere. Our waitress was wonderful and attentive. We tried the crab cake sandwich and the fish and chips. Both were tasty and affordably priced.

The Inn is also a B&B with dining rooms and the Tavern. We enjoyed the experience enough to make a reservation at the B&B for our wedding anniversary in November. We don't expect the patio to be warm and pleasant in November, but the dining rooms and Tavern are attractive to us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    449
    340
    204
    124
    97
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Binghamton, New York
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Nice Outside Seating area.”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our first evening in Gettysburg we decided to enjoy the beautiful day and eat outside at the Farnsworth. We had our 3 year old grand-daughter and thought it would be a good option for her as she could look at the garden and ponds while waiting for dinner.

Our server was very sweet and helpful. She constantly checked on us and was more than helpful when my grand-daughter spilled her chocolate milk!

Food was decent overall and reasonably priced.

While you are there take the time to visit the ponds are gardens. Very pretty and way in the back is a wall of bird houses!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joenronnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linthicum, MD
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food but not great”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We ate here on a recent trip to Gettysburg PA. In the past it has normally been very full and required a wait but today we were able to walk right in. The appetizer we had was very good, a shrimp chowder, and so was the bread with apple butter they served before the meal. The main course, however, was not so good. I had their signature dish, the game pie and my wife had the meatloaf. Neither of these dishes were very good. The game pie was down right awful. The service and ambiance was very good. I would go back, I just would not eat these dishes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Leos_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Historic Schtick”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Enjoyable. I like the outside dining. The food was fine. The pumpkin fritters were a treat. I recommend those. They are an appetizer, but more like a dessert. My wife and I sat outside on a comfortable evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MB185011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
528 reviews
302 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Wonderful outdoor seating area.”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We enjoyed a delightful lunch in the outdoor area which is quite charming. Our waitress was friendly and attentive. I had the peanut soup with a small salad for a lighter lunch, both quite good. Spouse had the game pie with sweet potato pudding and loved both. I thought the prices were quite reasonable for a resort area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank z0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farnsworth House Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Farnsworth House Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing