We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Love this campground” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gettysburg / Battlefield KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gettysburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gettysburg / Battlefield KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Love this campground”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Not far from home - but feels like you are. Every visit here has been perfect. We always stay in one of their cabins which have everything you could need. Their beds are soooo comfortable. Our cabin included a bathroom & partial kitchen. We always cook over the firepit provided at each site. Also has pool, dog walk & fenced dog park, mini golf etc. Highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kgoody87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    45
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
104
41
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

My aunt, mom, sister, and I stayed in Kamping Lodge 1 at KOA Gettysburg. The website said that this cabin can sleep 6, but I would not recommend more than 4 adults stay here. The bunk beds are enclosed (the bottom bunk is only open on one side. I slept in the bottom bunk the first night and was very overheated since there was no air flow. My sister had a similar experience with the top bunk on our last night there. The cabin has air conditioner so if you don't mind freezing out everyone else in the cabin, crank it up. The water smelled awful, making it unusable for showers, brushing your teeth, cleaning dishes, etc. The staff was a little scattered when we arrived (girl in the office didn't give me the key when I checked in, people on golf carts didn't give my mom her parking pass when she got there). Other than that, we had a pleasant experience at this campground.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lnh111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on full, back in site. Nice site, very shaded. Office staff was very friendly and there is plenty to do at the campground. Located reasonably close to all battlefield and downtown Gettysburg activities. Campground was clean and well taken care of. Will certainly stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hjpowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Virginia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We went to Gettysburg and was not sure what to expect. So we reserved a couple of nights at the KOA. Was a really nice campground, lots of shade, however it is a drive from Gettysburg. I can't say anything bad about here and they even offered to cook you dinner if you put in your order early enough and they would even deliver it to you (for a fee). I would book here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dfromano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Everyone was very friendly! Loved our cabin! This campground had lots of extras like the life size chess & connect four to the doggy playground. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again on a return trip to the area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We have stayed here several times and all have been wonderful. Love the shade trees and the way everything is kept clean. They have made this campground feel more natural by keeping lots of rocks and foliage at the sites. Loved the trail they made that takes you around the campground thru the woods. Nice hike. Our dogs loved the natural setting. They also have a wonderful playground where you can take the "children"(dogs) off the leash so they can run and play for exercise. Wish more campgrounds did this for our 4 legged children. Will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swill7885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed in for two nights in a nice shaded tent site while visiting the battlefield. The campground is very tidy, quiet at night, and very close to Gettysburg. Civil War buffs: I strongly recommend taking knoxlyn road north from the campground to US 30 on your way to visit the battlefield. At the intersection of the two roads is a much overlooked monument marking the spot where Marcellus Jones of the US 8th Cavalry fired the "first shot" of the battle--the spot is not marked on any of the National Park maps or guides and none of the guided tours go near it (it is too far west of town).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hadrian6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
7.3 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,303 reviews
5.1 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
7.8 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#3 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
President Inn & Suites
President Inn & Suites
#19 of 28 in Gettysburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#4 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
7.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gettysburg / Battlefield KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gettysburg / Battlefield KOA

Property: Gettysburg / Battlefield KOA
Address: 20 Knox Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7345
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Gettysburg
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A nightly movie provides an overview of the town and battle. Bus tours depart from this KOA daily (in season) for the Gettysburg Battlefield or Washington, D.C. Explore on your own with a tape or CD, visiting such hallowed sites as Little Round Top, Devil's Den and Pickett's Charge. After a day of touring, relax at this quiet, naturally wooded campground. Enjoy the heated pool, nature trail, fun-bike rentals, shuffleboard, horseshoes, life-size games and mini golf. Weekend entertainment includes living history encampments, Civil War songs and stories, Civil War fashion show, ghost walks and pancake breakfasts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gettysburg / Battlefield Koa Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing