We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Gettysburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wyndham Gettysburg
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

We are a family of 5 with 3 teenage boys and we loved this hotel. It was clean and the staff was very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The hotel decor was lovely and tastefully fit the theme of the area...very patriotic. The rooms were large and very comfortable. The bathrooms were nice. The location to downtown and the battlefield was only a few miles. We probably could have stayed closer, but the hotel was so perfect in every way that it was easy to drive 3-4 miles to the hotel each night. We did not eat in the hotel and I we didn't take advantage of the spa/pool area. We found this hotel on Tripadvisor. I would definitely stay here again AND I would strongly recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmmaShultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,214
    701
    214
    69
    25
See reviews for
796
613
72
400
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

Beautiful, super clean hotel with friendly staff and very comfortable beds. Nice and quiet and restaurants withing walking distance were pretty good too. Yes, you have to drive into Gettysburg, but so what? Would stay here again. Loved it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funadv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELLSWORTH, ohio
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

The hotel is very pleasant however the location is not near the Gettysburg Natl Park or downtown or dining spots. We had believed that the Wyndham was trying to elevate their status in the hotel heirarcy however this was not our experience. When we checked in we found there was not a refrig to keep cans and fruit cool so we requested a refrig for our room. The response was "Sure, for $10 a day". We had just spent the previous 2 nights at a Courtyard by Marriott and had the same request. Their response was "Sure, we'll have one there in 5 minutes" and they did - no charge. The clerk asked on the phone if our room was satisfactory and we said that it overlooked a lower roof of the hotel. They offered to move us to another room so we said "fine". The next room after all the luggage was moved was discovered by the checkin clerk to also overlook a roof. At that point we said the hell with it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thee_whiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

This place is a gem! I knew when I first saw the outside. It was not the standard cookie cutter architecture. Its beautiful exterior is matched well with the lobby. I was expecting something along the lines of a Holiday Inn Express decor.(I love Holiday Inn Express', but this place far outclassed them). I was very pleasantly surprised. They are obviously aiming for repeat business. The free breakfast is the best of its type I have had - you can order your own omelette. Juice and coffee are served to you (complimentary) on white linen tablecloths. There is a good size indoor pool and hot tub.
We had a very nice room with two queen beds - the most comfortable I or my wife or son have ever slept on.
Finally, the staff is among the best I have ever encountered in any hotel, regardless of price. They treated everyone like royalty. I can't say enough about this place as compared to the standard mid-range hotels out there.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JRK_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Getzville
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

This was our 2nd stay at the Wyndham in Gettysburg and it is a family favorite. The rooms are clean and spacious. The showers are GREAT! The hotel pool is clean and the hot tub is very large! The floor can be a bit slippery for the kids. The restaurant has a delicious breakfast and the atmosphere is very nice! The hotel is a bit off the beaten path but a very short drive to downtown Gettysburg. There are many conveniences along the route into town (gas, Wal-Mart, restaurants) so it's not a drawback for us. Love the Wyndham!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djdancon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Clair Shores, MI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Fell in love with this hotel the minute we walked into the lobby. The staff made us feel like family. The hotel is beautifully decorated, paying attention to every little detail. The bed was so comfortable, rooms nicely appointed. Restaurant staff & food outstanding. The gift shop is very reasonably priced with charming staff. The hotel sells discount tickets to the newly built theater on the grounds. Better than the Millenium Hilton Hotel in NYC!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseJourdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syracuse, ny
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

Very nice, clean, bright hotel. It has a great atmosphere about it from the carpet to the colors of the room to the painting on the wall. The only downside was that it isn't located in downtown Gettysburg but 2 miles from the battlefield.
Nonetheless, that is a little trade-off to stay in such a nice hotel.
I will stay here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gonygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#3 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 654 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 493 reviews
2.2 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 stars 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
#9 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 969 reviews
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#8 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Gettysburg

Property: Wyndham Gettysburg
Address: 95 Presidential Circle, Gettysburg, PA 17325-8397
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#6 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Gettysburg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by historic landmarks, Civil War-era charm, and stunning natural landscape, Gettysburg is a South Central Pennsylvania destination unlike any other. Situated just outside downtown Gettysburg, on the 100-acre Gateway Gettysburg campus, discover modern amenities, world-class dining, and a spectacular onsite theater just minutes from Gettysburg's most popular attractions. Guests of this centrally-located Gettysburg hotel are welcomed to this Federal-styled property by a dedicated and friendly hotel staff. After getting settled, take a refreshing dip in the indoor swimming pool, or enjoy a workout at the state-of-the-art fitness center. Two onsite restaurants dish up exceptional fare in a casual setting. Other exceptional guest services include shuttle services to local attractions and businesses, daily newspapers and complimentary WiFi. The Wyndham Gettysburg offers a modern escape for business and leisure travelers with 248 stylish guest rooms and convenient services that make life that much easier. Stylish furnishings and incredible comfort await at the well-appointed guest rooms and suites at the Wyndham Gettysburg. Whether traveling for business or leisure, guests will appreciate unwinding in the plush bedding surrounded by scarlet walls and presidential blue carpeting. Enjoy flat screen TVs, complimentary WiFi, coffee and tea maker, and upscale bath amenities. The gorgeous Deluxe Suites offer a distinguished ambiance, and separate living and dining room space. For convenience, impeccable room service is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Gettysburg Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing