We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Gettysburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wyndham Gettysburg
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I was really impressed with this hotel; it's beautifully decorated throughout reflecting Gettysburg's rich civil war history. If you are a history buff, you will enjoy the paintings of Lincoln and many famous military men. The décor is lovely with beautiful chandeliers and even an authentic civil war cannon in the lobby! The hotel was clean with friendly, knowledgeable staff and the room was spacious with comfortable beds. If you love movies, I would highly recommend the on-site Gateway Theater. The staff is friendly and in my opinion, has the freshest popcorn I've ever had in a movie theater. I would highly recommend this hotel, both for the reasonable price and the lovely accommodations.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Gettysburg, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased you liked our historical decor as well as our Gateway movie theater. I glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,190
    684
    208
    68
    22
See reviews for
776
599
70
393
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Media, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The 1863 restaurant was very good, attentive waitstaff. We thoroughl enjoyed Linda and Lauren. Front desk was helpful in getting around the area. We had a very enjoyable stay. Location of hotel is perfect for downtown Gettysburg as well as getting to all the national park sites. We will be back for another stay.

Room Tip: We used a travelzoo package and was a great investment
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Gettysburg, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and everyone was so accommodating. I will share your kind words with our associates. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

First visit to Gettysburg, and I wanted a hotel that was comfortable and certainly not overpriced (living in Las Vegas, I know that tourism can drive prices especially in the summer). This hotel was a great fit. It's not "downtown", but is actually only about 2-3 miles from the city square and maybe 4 from the Battlefield visitor center. As others have said it's right off the highway-VERY convenient if you're traveling down from Harrisburg.
Not sure why there's comments about the selection and quality of bar food-a surprisingly sophisticated app menu. The restaurant's definitely a cut above the average hotel restaurant, with the majority of produce sourced locally.
Didn't use any of the other amenities so I can't comment on them. However, there is a theater and a brew pub about 100m away-perfect if some of the younger troops are getting tired of tramping around battlefields and need a break.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grumblesa10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Gettysburg, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our Wyndham Gettysburg Hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Highlands, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We came to Gettysburg for a 4-day weekend with friends from far away, so booked the hotel based on what we found on TripAdvisor and other websites after cancelling a prior reservation at a hotel that had received too many bad reviews.
The Wyndham is on the outskirts of the town, but easily reached on the highway just outside the hotel complex, about 10 minutes or less away.
It is lovely inside and all of the employees were courteous and helpful. We had a king room, which was a bit cramped compared to some hotel rooms but fine for us. No refrigerator and no microwave, if that is important. There is a little coffeemaker which we used once and it was fine.
The bathroom had a great walk-in shower. The King bed was a bit on the firm side but didn't keep us awake for long.
They have a nice fitness center, indoor pool and jacuzzi, and they have locker rooms so you don't have to come down in the elevator in your swim togs. That was nice.
We did not have dinner in the restaurant but we ate in the bar one night -- casual food. We also had breakfast in the restaurant a couple of mornings and the breakfasts were very tasty and not terribly expensive. White tablecloths, orange juice in wine glasses and freshly made eggs, toast, bacon, sausage and hash browns was about $13-$14. Also, you can help yourself to a USA Today or Wall St. Journal from the stand just off the elevator.
We had a lovely surprise on Saturday night when it turned out that a regional folk harp group was spending the weekend at our hotel and had a music session downstairs open to everyone. That was really enjoyable.
One thing I think would be an extra plus would be to have a little more info about attractions and how best to see them more easily accessible. They do have a concierge but only saw her once.
That reminds me -- they do rent an audio CD for the battlefield tour at the front desk, which is reasonable.
There are many hotel/motel options in and around Gettysburg and we did see the 1863 inn in the downtown that was in the center of several attractions. But it was also nice to retreat to the Wyndham and relax. A very nice hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rainydaywoman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Gettysburg, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Wyndham Gettysburg Hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I appreciate that you took the time to tour our property and were able to take advantage of the amenities we have to offer our guests. Please note that we have fridges and microwaves available upon request. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#3 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 631 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 471 reviews
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#9 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 stars 745 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
#8 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Gettysburg

Property: Wyndham Gettysburg
Address: 95 Presidential Circle, Gettysburg, PA 17325-8397
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#6 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Gettysburg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by historic landmarks, Civil War-era charm, and stunning natural landscape, Gettysburg is a South Central Pennsylvania destination unlike any other. Situated just outside downtown Gettysburg, on the 100-acre Gateway Gettysburg campus, discover modern amenities, world-class dining, and a spectacular onsite theater just minutes from Gettysburg's most popular attractions. Guests of this centrally-located Gettysburg hotel are welcomed to this Federal-styled property by a dedicated and friendly hotel staff. After getting settled, take a refreshing dip in the indoor swimming pool, or enjoy a workout at the state-of-the-art fitness center. Two onsite restaurants dish up exceptional fare in a casual setting. Other exceptional guest services include shuttle services to local attractions and businesses, daily newspapers and complimentary WiFi. The Wyndham Gettysburg offers a modern escape for business and leisure travelers with 248 stylish guest rooms and convenient services that make life that much easier. Stylish furnishings and incredible comfort await at the well-appointed guest rooms and suites at the Wyndham Gettysburg. Whether traveling for business or leisure, guests will appreciate unwinding in the plush bedding surrounded by scarlet walls and presidential blue carpeting. Enjoy flat screen TVs, complimentary WiFi, coffee and tea maker, and upscale bath amenities. The gorgeous Deluxe Suites offer a distinguished ambiance, and separate living and dining room space. For convenience, impeccable room service is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Wyndham Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Gettysburg Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing