We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but disappointed!”
Review of Wyndham Gettysburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Gettysburg
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2008

If you are looking for an extremely comfortable bed and cleanliness then this is a place for you. Other that that, there is no HBO, Showtime, or any type of non commercial containing tv stations. Not even an option to rent movies. No complimentary coffee or breakfast. Was mysteriously checked out after day two of our six day stay. Was waken up on a Saturday morning by staff inquiring if we were checking out. We stated no and was given a free breakfast voucher for two for the interruption. Problems with checkout. The bill was not correct. They charged me three days instead of six. I found the receptionist rude when I made it known that I owed more. I ended up with a three part receipt and was told that I would have to come back at 9, if I wanted it on one sheet. I explained that I had to leave (going back to Virginia) and received a rather "not my problem" look. I don't think I will ever stay at this hotel due to its lack of warmth and personality.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SafetyWoodDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,625)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,568 - 2,574 of 2,625 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2008

I decided to stay at the Wyndham Gettysburg for my trip to Gettysburg.. well, that was a big mistake. It was awful. I ended up leaving to go to the Courtyard next door where I found a much more friendly and upscale environment. The courtyard was modern. The Wyndham was... unwelcoming. The people at the desk were unfriendly. I asked for directions and simply got a "here you go" with no explanation. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone. I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank ralshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2008

After researching hotels in the Gettysburg area, we came across this nice hotel. Being a By Request Member, it saved us time on checking in and out, as well as provided little perks for staying with them.
Upon checking in we discovered that we were on the second floor of the hotel. While we had hoped to be on a higher floor, this did not pose an issue as we were away from the elevators, and thought we would not have any issues. However, our room was near the end of the hall and right next to the stairway. Being on the second floor this was used ALOT! On our first night there, it was very noisy and we had horrific young neighbors, who prided themselves on staying up until the wee hours of the morning. We can we do??? We decided to ignore this as this truely did not represent the clientel that was staying at this hotel. But, by Saturday early evening, it again progressed into what I nicely called, a spring break type of theme. I promptly called the office, and explained the situation. I almost was horrified to find the hotel was booked full ........ Until the nice lady at the front desk informed me that they had a room that was out of service for a lighting issue, and she would check on how quickly it would have been fixed. Within 20 minutes we were in our new room. I was pleasantly suprised to find how quickly the staff addressed our issue. They even had someone bring us our new key and assist us to the new room. For the price of this hotel, and the minor issue of one rude neighbor, they treated us as if we were in a five star hotel. That should tell you something in itself!
As for the accomodations, rooms were clean and comfy, and again, being a request member, they had a fruit plate waiting for us in our room. We also had a few drinks at the lobby bar. Again, very attentive staff!
I highly recommend the Old Eagle Grill next door for some great dining,with little to no wait, and reasonable prices.
We also took part in The Farnsworth House Ghost Walk combo. For $8 per person, this was a highlite of our trip to Gettysburg!!
Overall, the service and people of Gettysburg, and this hotel were so genuine and accomdating, I look forward to going back in the fall!!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queenie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2008

Before booking our room at the Wyndham, I agonized over whether to stay at a hotel or bed and breakfast. After getting a look at the town, I'm glad we decided to stay at the Wyndham. The hotel's location just a mile or two out of town is enough to get away from the noise and traffic (of course, this means you have to drive into town, so that could be a trade off if you would rather walk to downtown locations). Our room on the top floor was huge and comfortable, and we loved the soft bed and the flat screen tv. We even could occasionally access the wireless network. The pool and workout room were clean and convenient. We ordered a pizza one night from the Italian restaurant in front of the hotel (just had to run over and pick it up, and it was delicious. The hotel is no more than a five minute drive to the battlefield, and it's just a few minutes into town. We were worried when we noticed a bus full of kids unloading at the hotel one evening, but they must have been on another floor, because we hardly heard or saw anyone the whole time we were there, making for a wonderfully quiet stay. I highly recommend the Wyndham as a base of operations for a trip to Gettysburg, we will definitely be back,

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brighterworlds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2008

After a hard year of work, and only a weekend off, we agreed that we needed a quick weekend getaway and opted to try the new, three-month-old Wyndham Gettysburg, and am I ever glad I did!
The hotel is decorated in stately colors of red, blue, and gold. The lobby has two seating areas (one on the left and one on the right), separated by a gorgeous registration desk. Down the right hall is their restaurant and bar (horrible breakfast), and down the left hall is the elevators.
We got two connecting rooms on the fourth floor, a king bed for us and two queens for the children. The rooms are unbelievably gorgeous and feature designer furniture, feather-bed-topped mattresses, 300 thread count sheets, down-stuffed duvets, wool blankets and five pillows per bed. The bathroom has a nice shower, although small (probably not convenient for overweight people), and granite-topped vanities with Kohler faucets.
Location, location, location. The hotel is located just a mile out of downtown, yet far enough away to be a paradise of its own. It is located in a small development with a Courtyard by Marriott, two restaurants, and a movie theatre.
TRAVELERS TIPS: Try the original Ghost's of Gettysburg Tours. Also, become a member of their benefits club to receive personal touches in rooms, fruit baskets and complimentary upgrades.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank arlingtonman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2008

The hotel is absolutely gorgeous. My boyfriend and I traveled with 3 kids ages 3, 5 and 14 years old. The room size was perfect with 2 beds and plenty of room for the kids to run around. The location to the battlefields is very convenient at only about 5 minutes away. The italian restaurant that is right in front of the hotel is convenient and really good. The pool was a nice size and very clean and well kept with dry clean towels at all times. The decor was perfect with its colonial style that put you in the state of mind to go and sight-see. One of our favorite attractions was the Jennie Wade house and we even took the kids for the ghost tour there at night and we all loved it. The Dobbins Restaurant was really good although not very kid friendly goes as far as the menu. When we come again to visit we will stay at the Wyndham again.

Stayed: March 2008
2  Thank harrydo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2008

Nice enough. Fairly new. Fairly clean. Bed quite comfortable, but the price was too high for just a room. Parking is some distance from the hotel door.

Noisy, with children actually playing ball in the hallways.

Shower water pressure left more than a little to be desired.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kaysguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
2.2 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,147 reviews
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Gettysburg, PA
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#2 of 28 in Gettysburg
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
2.4 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
909 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#8 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Gettysburg

Address: 95 Presidential Cir, Gettysburg, PA 17325-8397
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#6 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range: $70 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Gettysburg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by historic landmarks, Civil War-era charm, and stunning natural landscape, Gettysburg is a South Central Pennsylvania destination unlike any other. Situated just outside downtown Gettysburg, on the 100-acre Gateway Gettysburg campus, discover modern amenities, world-class dining, and a spectacular onsite theater just minutes from Gettysburg's most popular attractions. Guests of this centrally-located Gettysburg hotel are welcomed to this Federal-styled property by a dedicated and friendly hotel staff. After getting settled, take a refreshing dip in the indoor swimming pool, or enjoy a workout at the state-of-the-art fitness center. Two onsite restaurants dish up exceptional fare in a casual setting. Other exceptional guest services include shuttle services to local attractions and businesses, daily newspapers and complimentary WiFi. The Wyndham Gettysburg offers a modern escape for business and leisure travelers with 248 stylish guest rooms and convenient services that make life that much easier. Stylish furnishings and incredible comfort await at the well-appointed guest rooms and suites at the Wyndham Gettysburg. Whether traveling for business or leisure, guests will appreciate unwinding in the plush bedding surrounded by scarlet walls and presidential blue carpeting. Enjoy flat screen TVs, complimentary WiFi, coffee and tea maker, and upscale bath amenities. The gorgeous Deluxe Suites offer a distinguished ambiance, and separate living and dining room space. For convenience, impeccable room service is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wyndham Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Gettysburg Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing