We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could have been lovely, had it been clean!”
Review of Wyndham Gettysburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Gettysburg
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Could have been lovely, had it been clean!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My daughters and I spent 2 nights here from Aug. 25-27 and were very disappointed. The theme of the hotel was very patriotic, lots of Civil War portraits, some memorabilia, and the room at first glance was quite spacious and nice. Closer observation showed spills and stains on the walls, a coating of dust on the walls and ceiling that was breathtaking.... literally and cob-webs on the ceiling and in the corners that could have supported a small child. When we left a note for housekeeping to dust the walls because we woke up with full sinuses and puffy eyes, they dusted around the lamp sitting on the bedside table leaving a huge triangle of dust on the wall. It didn't make us feel that the rest of the room was particularly well cared for.
We ended up feeling very uncomfortable in the room and opted to leave a day early to carry on the the next leg of our trip.
This hotel has the potential to be very nice, but I like to feel like I'm staying in a clean place and I just didn't get that feeling at all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,320
    766
    227
    73
    26
See reviews for
851
677
79
443
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

great hotel a large chain based hotel for what we paid and a good pool for the kids.
loved the red white and blue woven into this hotel.
excellent service
biggest drawback is location is not close to anything and part of a large parking lot / movie theatre complex. Plan to drive to downtown gettsburg, the battle fields...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Ridgeville, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Everything was great except the way my "security deposit" was handled. Upon checking in I used my debit card to secure the room and when I checked out I used a credit card. The problem with that is when I checked out either the hotel or the bank (they both blamed the other) held my cash for 5 days after checking out. Had I held the room with the credit card and then checked out with the same card, there would not have been the problem. All that being said...it was a very clean hotel with a nice pool and a great location. There was a wedding going on the same weekend that we stayed which made me a little concerned about noise but we had no issues and things were as quiet as could be. I would recommend Wyndham to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We spent one night while visiting Gettysburg. It was the most comfortable bed, beautifully appointed room and very clean. The restaurant is fantastic; we had both dinner and breakfast and both meals were great. It is a beautiful hotel and has a very nice pool and hot tub. It is not downtown or near the sights but sits right off the highway, next to another hotel and movie theater. After dinner we caught a movie (with discount tickets from the front desk at an unbelievable price). We had a wonderful experience at the Wyndham!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara on the Lake
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Hotel was clean and well maintained. Staff friendly and helpful. Location not far from battlefield and exhibits. Would stay there again! If they only offered a breakfast like Hampton Inn offers it would be perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afriesen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights on a family trip to view the battlefield and Eisenhower's home. The hotel is fairly new, very clean and filled with nice perks (free Wall Street Journal, $6 movie tickets to the theater across the parking lot, upscale shampoos and soaps). Our room was huge. The bed was very comfortable and the presidential theme carpet made you feel like a VIP. It's a few miles from the downtown part of Gettysburg, but that is just as well because the town while cute does not have much that is open at night. The location of the hotel is quiet and allows a restful experience. The views of the mountains from the room help in that regard.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Lakes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
183 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed at the Wyndham this time during our annual trip to G'burg, and weren't disappointed. The room was spotlessly clean, modern and well equipped, the rates reasonable. Very nice place.

The only questionable occurrence happened the first morning we were there. As we walked towrd the elevator, a man wearing a company embroidered polo shirt came toward us with what appeared to be a bug-sniffing beagle, accompanied by a maintenance man. A red flag immediately went up: Bed Bugs. When we returned later, I immediately checked under the mattress and around the bed for a sign of the little buggers, and fortunately found no evidence of their existence.

When I questioned the girl behind the desk that evening, I was told, "We're pet-friendly. What you must have seen was a guest with a dog. Nothing to worry about." Maybe she wasn't aware of the exterminator and his dog, or maybe she was just giving a line of BS. Who knows? Just be advised that I know what I saw-an exterminator with a dog-so keep that in mind if you're thinking about making reservations at the Gettysburg Wyndham.

Let me stress again, that I found no Bed Bugs in our room. Would we stay there again? Most likely, as long as the bug scare is not a problem.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrumBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Gettysburg
Courtyard Gettysburg
#13 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#3 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
2.2 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Gettysburg

Property: Wyndham Gettysburg
Address: 95 Presidential Circle, Gettysburg, PA 17325-8397
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#6 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Gettysburg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by historic landmarks, Civil War-era charm, and stunning natural landscape, Gettysburg is a South Central Pennsylvania destination unlike any other. Situated just outside downtown Gettysburg, on the 100-acre Gateway Gettysburg campus, discover modern amenities, world-class dining, and a spectacular onsite theater just minutes from Gettysburg's most popular attractions. Guests of this centrally-located Gettysburg hotel are welcomed to this Federal-styled property by a dedicated and friendly hotel staff. After getting settled, take a refreshing dip in the indoor swimming pool, or enjoy a workout at the state-of-the-art fitness center. Two onsite restaurants dish up exceptional fare in a casual setting. Other exceptional guest services include shuttle services to local attractions and businesses, daily newspapers and complimentary WiFi. The Wyndham Gettysburg offers a modern escape for business and leisure travelers with 248 stylish guest rooms and convenient services that make life that much easier. Stylish furnishings and incredible comfort await at the well-appointed guest rooms and suites at the Wyndham Gettysburg. Whether traveling for business or leisure, guests will appreciate unwinding in the plush bedding surrounded by scarlet walls and presidential blue carpeting. Enjoy flat screen TVs, complimentary WiFi, coffee and tea maker, and upscale bath amenities. The gorgeous Deluxe Suites offer a distinguished ambiance, and separate living and dining room space. For convenience, impeccable room service is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Gettysburg Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing