We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Stay to Visit Battlefield”
Review of Wyndham Gettysburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Gettysburg
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Overnight Stay to Visit Battlefield”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

3 British Army officers visiting the Battlefield and looking for a one night stay. Quality and standards of hotel were very impressive indeed. Staff young and helpful. You cannot walk from the hotel into the Centre and there is no cab service, but the quality of the hotel is worth it. Good sized pool. We ate at the Appalachian Brewery Company and listened to live music in the Garryowen (both in town) and all agreed it was the best night of our roadtrip. The Battlefield is simply superb and the audio CD for the car highly recommended and easy to use.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMcGovernFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,337
    773
    232
    75
    27
See reviews for
861
685
80
448
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sanatoga, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Located abut 3 miles east of downtown and historic Gettysburg, on commercially developed (shopping centers, plazas, other hotels and restaurants) on Y.S. Route 30 at Route 15. As of stay date (April 26-28, 2012), two restaurants adjacent to hotel in same complex - one American dining, one Italian - both closed and out of business. Hotel large, comfortable, on pricey side. Staff attentive and helpful. Its "business center" unusable for road warriors: not private, open in the lobby, two PCs and a single printer, meant primarily for light travel info. Hotel restaurant acceptable, not outstanding, similarly pricey. Comfortable room, upgraded bathroom styling.

Room Tip: This hotel serves a large number of groups, occasionally with middle- and high school excursions. As...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe_Zlomek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familythattravels30
Level Contributor
128 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed at the Wyndham hotel for about 2 nights while visiting Gettysburg & my cousin at Gettysburg College. I was very pleased with the cleanliness and size of our room. The large size of our room was a surprise. We have two little ones (4 & 1) and they had a great time playing in the room. We never felt cramped. The check in and check out process was very easy. The staff at the front desk were polite and welcoming. I have no complaints - price was right for the type of hotel it is and it was very very clean. I've stayed at many hotels from Europe to the South Pacific and this hotel was one of my favorites for its cleanliness, room size and cost. Very hard to find a hotel with all three qualities. And as an added bonus: a brand new movie theater & restaurants right outside the door. Thanks Wyndham Gettysburg for a great stay.. I will definitely stay at the Wyndham Gettysburg hotel whenever we decide to visit Gettysburg again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familythattravels30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadephia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We just got back from 3 nights at this property. The rooms, decor and staff that we dealt with were very nice. The hotel has lovely "Presidential" decor, our room was of a good size and was very clean. It would have been nice to have a fridge in the room. Wyndham is an upscale chain. THAT should be a no brainer as most hotels offer a fridge or fridge microwave combo. The desk chair was also too short to comfortably use at the desk. There was also no gift shop/amenities store open during our stay. No place to buy a small snack or toothpaste if you ran out. Those minor comments aside, the reason that I am only reviewing it as very good is less a reflection on the hotel, but the Gateway Center where it is located. Firstly, the address did not access on a gps. We stopped at the service station down the road for directions and they were no help. You would THINK that local people would know where the hotel was especially when it was less than a 1/2 mile from their location. The property was viewable from Hwy 15. We came up Hwy 30, missed the sign as we were looking for a large "Wyndham" sign and didn't see the hotel name clearly on the "Gateway Center" sign and drove right past - our fault. Secondly, the Gateway Center where the hotel is located along with a Marriott hotel bills itself as an entertainment complex. Well, there is a movie theater there and it looked deserted for most of our visit and the restaurants "Garibaldi's" and another whose name I cannot remember were not open. I think that the hotel should remove any suggestion of it being located in an entertainment complex until that is the case. When we asked about the restaurants at the front desk, the very helpful clerk said that they had been closed pending new ownership. Clearly not the hotel's fault, but that leaves dining options (other than the pricy hotel restaurant) rather slim unless you get out and drive. The hotel is a couple of miles from the "diamond" of downtown Gettysburg. There are fast food options, a Perkins restaurant and Hoss's Restaurant a few minutes away. If you're interested in better dining - eat in town.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluize36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Customer service at this hotel is lacking. It's clean enough, I guess, but it's overpriced for the area and quality of hotel. I've stayed at much nicer hotels for less or the same cost. That being said, my problem wasn't with the price, it was the service. We stayed here on a Saturday night for the recent Blue and Gray Half Marathon happening in town the following morning as I would have expected many others staying there were too. There were weddings going on as well, but I know a lot of people were in town for the race. It also happened to snow really badly that weekend, so the race was still going to happen, but they decided to postpone it an hour to make sure the roads were clear of ice and snow for the runners. No problem, but that pushed back our checkout time from the hotel since we had planned to come back, shower and clean up after the race. We'd really have to push it to get out of there by 12pm checkout time so we just called downstairs to ask for a later checkout. It clearly states on the welcome card that you can checkout as late as 2pm, just ask. Okay so we asked. Instead we got this guest services girl who was like, "No, absolutely not. We have a full house. We aren't accepting any late check outs." My boyfriend pleaded that we were there for the race and it got postponed and, and...nope..she shut him down. Huh? I've never ever stayed at a hotel in my life that did not honor a late check request..ever. Some places charge for it and in that case, I won't do it, but if they offer them, I just ask for one and I get it. Done. Not here. Even under the extenuating circumstances.

On our way out, we stopped at the front desk to ask again, hoping to get another guest services person and we did. This time, she said it was fine. I still did not get why the first girl was so adamant about not letting us check out late. As if a ton of people were going to be checking in on a Sunday? Weird. Anyway, another thing I did not like was the walls here are THIN. I could hear the television and word for word conversations from the hallways and next door. Not that I ever plan on coming to Gettysburg again in my life, but if I did, I would never stay here again.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lavie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

It is about 2 miles from Gettysburg but right off the Highway. Two places to eat were closed or not open yet, not much around the hotel itself. But the Hotel itself was fine, clean big rooms has its own restaurant which was good but pricey.

Room Tip: Has a Pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gt1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My daughter got married in Gettysburg and we rented 2 rooms and a suite at the Wyndham for 2 nights over the wedding weekend. Really nice facility - rooms were large, comfortable, clean and reasonably priced. Just a few small complaints.
1. On the bed linens you basically had a sheet and a really thick comforter that must have been designed for use in an igloo. So you had two choices - use both and sweat to death or just use the sheet and be cold.
2. Room service. We filled out the little card the night before and hung it outside the room to get breakfast delivered in the morning. We asked for it to be delivered between 8 and 8:15 by check the little box on the card. 8:30am still no breakfast. Called down to room service, couldn't get through. Talked to front desk they tried to connect me but they couldn't get through. Finally the person and the front desk said she would walk over and investigate at the restaurant (kudus for her on good service). Ten minutes later it showed up - I ordered toast with butter and jelly - got the toast but no butter and jelly.
3. No refrigerator in any room. I perhaps expected one at least in the suite but there isn't any.

All of the personnel that we dealt with were friendly and helpful - this was a plus. Just seemed like maybe the restaurant was understaffed.

Room Tip: The suites were really nice and a large room for not much more than the regular room - definitely wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleipho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Gettysburg
Courtyard Gettysburg
#13 of 27 in Gettysburg
550 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 27 in Gettysburg
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,485 reviews
2.2 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
999 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#3 of 27 in Gettysburg
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Gettysburg

Property: Wyndham Gettysburg
Address: 95 Presidential Circle, Gettysburg, PA 17325-8397
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#6 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Gettysburg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by historic landmarks, Civil War-era charm, and stunning natural landscape, Gettysburg is a South Central Pennsylvania destination unlike any other. Situated just outside downtown Gettysburg, on the 100-acre Gateway Gettysburg campus, discover modern amenities, world-class dining, and a spectacular onsite theater just minutes from Gettysburg's most popular attractions. Guests of this centrally-located Gettysburg hotel are welcomed to this Federal-styled property by a dedicated and friendly hotel staff. After getting settled, take a refreshing dip in the indoor swimming pool, or enjoy a workout at the state-of-the-art fitness center. Two onsite restaurants dish up exceptional fare in a casual setting. Other exceptional guest services include shuttle services to local attractions and businesses, daily newspapers and complimentary WiFi. The Wyndham Gettysburg offers a modern escape for business and leisure travelers with 248 stylish guest rooms and convenient services that make life that much easier. Stylish furnishings and incredible comfort await at the well-appointed guest rooms and suites at the Wyndham Gettysburg. Whether traveling for business or leisure, guests will appreciate unwinding in the plush bedding surrounded by scarlet walls and presidential blue carpeting. Enjoy flat screen TVs, complimentary WiFi, coffee and tea maker, and upscale bath amenities. The gorgeous Deluxe Suites offer a distinguished ambiance, and separate living and dining room space. For convenience, impeccable room service is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Gettysburg Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing