We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VERY NICE!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cricket House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cricket House
Ranked #20 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Portland, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“VERY NICE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2010

I was told by a close friend that the Cricket House was the BEST! They went there this Summer. They were definitely right! The Cricket House was very clean, nicely decorated, had all the amenities, the location was great, walking distance to all the Gettysburg points of interest, the park, eating establishments,, etc. We've already made reservations for next Spring! I Recommend the Cricket House HIGHLY! (No, I'm not a relative! :)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katsiaficas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
8
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

One of the best kept secrets in Gettysburg.
The Cricket House is a stone’s throw from the middle of town yet gives the seclusion and privacy everyone wants. Quaint two story old restored carriage house nestled in the rear of a beautiful old home. All the amenities & includes an enclosed private patio with garden for relaxing. Two bedroom, two bath, living room, kitchen, TV's, stained glass, private parking, enclosed patio & garden you can't find anything better.
A must stay if you love Gettysburg but get your reservations in early as the best kept secret in Gettysburg is quickly becoming a popular stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GhostBreakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ont
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

We really enjoyed staying here. It was nice to have a fully stocked kitchen to prepare some meals. Our teenager loved having his own room and bathroom. The patio outside was nice to relax on and have our morning coffee. The cottage was very clean, and
spacious. I would definitally come back again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djsunfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purcellville, VA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2009

Our 4th stay at the cutest guest house on Earth! So clean, so comfortable! Close to everything, hot tub, gorgeous backyard.....if it was for sale I would buy it in an instant! Looking forward to June, 2010!! This place is A+++!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ritzlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connellsville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2009

My daughter's and I stayed at the Cricket House for one week last June....and we are eagerly awaiting our return to Gettysburg in a few more weeks. The location is ideal, with the high gas prices last summer, we parked the car and walked to most places. Its a nice, quiet, neighborhood and when we would get up in the morning we would have breakfast out on the back patio....we would come back and rest in the heat of the afternoon (its so much nicer than a noisy hotel), watch TV or videos (provided by John) or grab a quick snack. Its within walking distance of just about everything (churches, shops, restaurants, Spangler Springs, etc) My cell phone died and I was so grateful to have the free telephone so I could keep in touch with the folks back home. We plan on bringing the laptop this year so we can upload pictures and videos to send by email. Everything is provided and I especially appreciated the washer and dryer. Now that we feel so at home there we don't want to stay anywhere else when visiting Gettysburg.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crism2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2007

What could be better than having your own home away from home ? For the same price of a B& B for two you can have an extravagance cottage all to yourselves . ….. and a few others if you wanted. Minus an overpriced B & B breakfast, it is all that you see it to be in their web site’s pictures: above customary kitchen, two new baths decked out with a steam room in one and Jacuzzi in the other, silky smooth sheets, TV in each sitting area/bedroom, hot tub w/ heated walkway, and best of all, convenient to everything! This IS the best Gettysburg has to offer.

  • Liked — Spa facilities
  • Disliked — There appeared to be a problem w/ the 2nd floor shower & the hot water coming and going.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 1smartblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2007

The Cricket House is an absolutely wonderful place to spend your vacation.

Four of us (seniors) stayed at the Cricket House from July 4 -11/07 while we attended the Civil War Re-Enactment and toured the historical areas of Gettysburg and surrounding areas . What a wonderful place to return to after a long day of touring.

First of all, the location was excellent. Only about 2-1/2 blocks to downtown Gettysburg and all of the shops and restaurants. One of the battlefields was only a half block away. The Cricket House is located in a very private, quiet area of town.

There is a small grocery store not far away (Kennie's) that has all the groceries you would need. It was about 5 blocks down Middle Street.

The house itself is amazing. It was immaculately clean when we arrived. The kitchen was fully equipped. We used the downstairs living area as the second bedroom. The futon was pulled out and already made up for us when we arrived. It was a very comfortable bed. The upstairs bedroom and living area was most comfortable with a jacuzzi tub and waterfall shower. The decor of the house was amazing - quite a few antique artifacts were displayed all around the house. There were 3 TV's and DVD's. The selection of books ranged from civil war history to classics to interior decorationg.

We spend quite a bit of time in the back yard. It was so private with very beautiful flowers and rose bushes all around. At night the fireflies were buzzing all around and entertained us. And of course the Spa. What a wonderful way to relax and unwind after a day of touring. We enjoyed the spa every night.

John and his wife have defintely made the Cricket House into a wonderful home away from home. We are definitely recommending this home to all of our friends and we hope to return to Gettysburg and the Cricket House in the future.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Seeker30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.3 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#4 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
0.5 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#9 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cricket House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cricket House

Property: Cricket House
Address: 162 E Middle St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-1938
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cricket House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing