We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pig Pen” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Battlefield Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gettysburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Battlefield Motel
Save
You added Battlefield Motel to your Saves list
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Milford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Pig Pen”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

made the mistake of booking 2 rooms here, if you have allergies or are suspect to to any health issues "STAY AWAY". The rooms smelled so bad, air conditioners full of mold, sagging floors and chairs and beds i wouldnt sit on unless I had been vaccinated I was traveling with small children who i did not want to infect that forced me to demand from the owner a refund, we had turned down one bed, and believe it or not the owner had the nerve to ask $50.00 to clean the rooms , needless to say this did not happen, perhaps where he comes from this is a palace, but PLEASE do not make the same mistake i did. He returned 100.00 dollars of the 120.00 dollars and we left very late dragging small children looking for another motel

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank J0hn224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
3
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staunton, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

This motel is on "old" Rt.15 by-pass and you need to know that it is wisest to take "new" Rt.15 to get to Rt. 394 as that is the quickest and easiest way to get there. Owners accent was a little difficult for us to understand on the telephone, easier in person. Rooms were sparse, no telephone, but not a problem for us. Bed was clean and comfortable, walls are thin but neighbors were quiet. Road is quiet, too; except for people who have to turn around and race back to intersection.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vamonta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate, SC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

When you first pull up to the hotel, you might be thinking "umm.. I'm not sure about this place..". It's definitely old and a little worn down. But as soon as you check in, you'll find the staff is very friendly, rooms are clean, everything works, and you'll just overall have an enjoyable stay. If you're looking for a low rate (probably the lowest in Gettysburg at $45-$50 a night) and aren't expecting anything fancy, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aphill95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

This motel is an older one, nothing fancy, but it was clean and quiet, which was most important to us. Our room was one of the bigger ones, with a small refrigerator, TV, AC, a couple of dressers, a hanging rod, and 2 double beds. We didn't plan on spending a lot of time in the room so this was just fine for us. It has parking right outside your door, which was also a plus for us. It's exactly 3 miles from town. We came down during Gettysburg Bike(motorcycle) Week, and so we were looking forward to all the daily activities, and some of the night life. But, when it came to bedtime, we wanted to be able to go back and be able to have a good night sleep without all the noise. This place fit the bill perfectly.
We didn't have any problems during our stay. We never felt threatened here, we were quite comfortable. Two of our friends stayed here at the same time, and also enjoyed their stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabre_Shadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2009

My wife and I wanted to ride our bikes around Gettysburg. We called up to make reservations. Owner was nice and pleasant. Did not have any problems. The motel is just 3 miles from town. The room rates are less than half what you would pay for the usual hotel chains located in and around town.
The place is a little old but the rooms were clean. Has TV and a small refrigerator, a little closet, bedside tables, a cabinet, toilet and shower. Bed was decent, comfy. We were able to bring in our two bikes inside the room with space to spare.
We did not feel threatened or in danger as the other review suggested. We needed inexpensive lodging and this fit the bill.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lov2bike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2006

This place should be condemned! There were two cars up on blocks and my Chevy cavalier looked like a Cadilac Escalade compared to the other vehicles in the lot. It SMELLED horribly and I was afraid to sit on the bed it was so gross. The person who ran the place never changed out of the same pair of pajamas both days we were there and their "free coffee" came from the most dirty coffee pot I have ever seen in my life. This place literally brought me to tears. I found this motel (if you want to call it that) on -----. It was the first motel listed and it was a nightmare. Plus, the TV had "Wal Mart" literally burned into the screen. Do yourself and favor and NEVER STAY HERE!!!!


Helpful?
25 Thank victorianeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gettysburg hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
2.7 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#21 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
8.3 mi away
Red Carpet Inn Gettysburg
Red Carpet Inn Gettysburg
#26 of 28 in Gettysburg
3.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
3.2 mi away
President Inn & Suites
President Inn & Suites
#19 of 28 in Gettysburg
3.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites in Gettysburg
4.1 mi away
Inn at Cemetery Hill
Inn at Cemetery Hill
#15 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
8.6 mi away
Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battlefield Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battlefield Motel

Property: Battlefield Motel
Address: 2075 Old Harrisburg Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Battlefield Motel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing