We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Absolute Best Way to see the Battlefield”
Review of GettysBike Tours

GettysBike Tours
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The Absolute Best Way to see the Battlefield”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We took an afternoon bike tour with Bob Steenstra, a registered tour guide and owner of this place. It was fantastic. Bob is a "biking" encyclopedia of the Battle of Gettysburg; I don't think there is a question that he can't answer. He also knows how to pace the ride for everyone, regardless of biking ability. We rented their bikes, and found them to be very good - Trek models with 21 speeds. They also provide helmets. I am sure we saw and experienced a lot more on bike than you would get by bus or auto tour. I highly recommend this way to see Gettysburg.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dale O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    7
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burr Ridge, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A lot of ground to cover, biking's the best!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

We hoped to get an up close and personal tour of the Gettysburg battlefield and Gettysburg Bike Tours did just that. Being out in nature, not enclosed in a bus, was perfect for our family. We have three children ages 13, 11 and 10. My youngest has asthma so I booked a tandem bike for the two of us. They loved the combination of biking with stops along the way to learn about this historic battle. Kelly, who books the trips, was extremely helpful in recommending what options we had available. We chose the Yanks Tour as it was only three hours-perfect for kids. Bruce, our guide, was great in making it come to life. There is one significant hill to go up, Little Round Top. If you get winded, it's a manageable walk up with your bike. It's definitely a must see as the view of the entire battlefield is amazing!
Thank you Gettysburg for making this a highlight of our children's vacation!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dgrunsten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Way to See the Battlefield”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Our afternoon with GettysBikes was a fantastic experience. We got to see a much larger area than we could on foot, but still experience the terrain and understand how it influenced the battle as we couldn't in a car. And the guides were outstanding - very knowledgable and interesting.
The staff was all wonderful, and went above and beyond to fit our schedule. We are experienced bikers and did some hills, but there were also easy options that kids in our group had no trouble with. We brought our own bikes, but those available to rent looked fine.
Bob in particular was a phenomenal guide, and we are so glad we found this!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank pgandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullica Hill, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great way to see the park!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Bruce was an excellent tour guide. Great story teller and clearly loves the topic of the Battle of Gettysburg. The ride was easy most of the time, but two challenging hills. Was a beautiful day to ride bikes. We brought our own bikes, but our friends used the rentals and they were really good bikes. Would definitely do this again!!! Next time we will extend our ride on our own. Bring snacks and water! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!!!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank prlywtz_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Bike Tour”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Took an awesome three hour Gettysburg battlefield history bike tour with family and friends on Memorial Day weekend. We did not have to bring bikes, instead we rented well working bikes at Gettysbike Tours. Staff were FRIENDLY and helpful both when making reservations and when we arrived.
Our guide, Bruce was interesting and exciting. He told us stories about soldiers that everyone in the group could relate to. Best trip ever!!
PS: clean bathrooms near check in!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to GettysBike Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing