We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brierfield II Country Guest Cottages

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gettysburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brierfield II Country Guest Cottages
Save
You added Brierfield II Country Guest Cottages to your Saves list
Ranked #20 of 25 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Central, NJ
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Home away from home...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Brierfield Cottages is where we go to escape the crazy world. It it peaceful and quiet. No main street Gettysburg noise. Located about 2 miles from the Eternal Peace Light it is a haven. Owner Nancy is gracious in every respect....true southern hospitality. We stayed in the Pool House Cottage which is large and spacious and meets our even need. Our wonderful breakfasts are served in Nancy's wonderful sunroom....absolutely delicious and elegant. You will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller2846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caro, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here while we were on our honeymoon in May 2012. We stayed in the Pool House cottage and it was AMAZING! Nancy was wonderful, she let us borrow the audio tour of the battlefield, and told us of places that we should visit. Breakfast was wonderful both days that we were there. We had never stayed at a B&B before, but when we go back to Gettysburg, we will be staying here again!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m1davis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Salt Box cottage on June 2012. I'm sure there are few people like Nancy- the owner- left in this world. Her hospitality was unmatched!!! The rooms were super clean with no problems whatsoever. Breakfast was amazing and very comfortable! We enjoyed our short visit with Nancy as much as the cottage. We will be looking no further in the future when staying in Gettysburg!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Star N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

The Salt Box Cottage was the perfect retreat for me and my husband, who were visiting Gettysburg for the first time. We typically don't enjoy B&B's since we like a little more privacy, and Brierfield Guest Cottages fit us perfectly. The cottage itself was very clean, nicely decorated, and well appointed. It was only a short drive downtown but felt a world away from the rest of the tourists. Nancy was a fantastic host-- warm and knowledgeable, and the breakfast was killer. Be advised that payment is cash only.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Smeleanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwmdoc
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Booked from iPad on the way to gettyburg. All reviews spot on. Great choice. Great food,hospitality,and accommodations .

Room Tip: Cottage is great. Only 2 but botjh are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rwmdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewEngland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed at the Salt Box cottage over July 16-17th and loved every minute of our time there. The cottage was carefully and thoughtfully appointed and very clean. Nancy provides an ample breakfast and has a wonderful sense of humor which is coupled with her "farm girl" charm and sensibility. She is a wealth of information on a variety of subjects, and very easy to talk with.
The property is a short drive from the battlefield (closer to the Eternal Light and Seminary ridge than other areas) but not too far away. For those that enjoy getting out of the tourist areas and long for quiet nights and a little added privacy this is the place.
We loved it and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Both cottages are beautiful!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClydesBonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

What a wonderful find! For $100 a night we had a private cottage to ourselves a short drive from downtown Gettsyburg. Breakfast was delicious and Nancy, the innkeeper, was just lovely. We had fluffy homemade waffles with Nancy's personal recipe berry topping. It is about 5 minutes from downtown, and near the battlefield.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jschooljunkette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
4.2 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 stars 756 reviews
5.1 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 2,178 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#3 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
7.7 mi away
The Lightner Farmhouse
The Lightner Farmhouse
#7 of 25 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
6.5 mi away
Baladerry Inn
Baladerry Inn
#4 of 25 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brierfield II Country Guest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brierfield II Country Guest Cottages

Property: Brierfield II Country Guest Cottages
Address: 1060 Belmont Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7490
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Brierfield Ii Country Guest Cottages Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing