We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Quiet, pleasant, and convenient” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Gettysburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard Gettysburg
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bristol
Level Contributor
153 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Quiet, pleasant, and convenient”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here last Saturday during a driving tour of historical sites in Virginia and Pennsylvania.

The hotel is on the outskirts of Gettysburg, away from the main mass of retail parks, so is very quiet. The downside is that there is not much choice for restaurants. I believe there is a shuttle bus into town, which would be very useful when it's busy and impossible to find parking spaces.

The room and bathroom were good, with a sofa bed by the window. There was free Wi-Fi, but it was intermittent. The bed dipped a little in the middle, unfortunately. There is a choice of simple continental or cooked breakfasts.

This would be a good choice for anyone visiting Gettysburg. I would have given it a four stars but for being charged more on my credit card (after leaving) than the amount stated on the final receipt/invoice at checkout.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nyonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W, General Manager at Courtyard Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our rooms and our convenient location. In regards to your bill, if you feel you were charged incorrectly, please feel free to call the hotel directly at (717)334-5600 and ask for our Front Office Manager. We would be happy to resolve any errors for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    207
    78
    20
    4
See reviews for
193
186
28
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was my first visit to Gettysburg, but I know where I will stay if I ever go back and that is this Courtyard.

I am a huge Courtyard fan, but this one is super nice. I think it is near new. It is right beside a restaurant and movie theater. The staff is also super nice.

Pros:
-water pressure
-super clean
-good internet speed
-free parking
-nice and large lobby
-free coffee in lobby (I wish Courtyard would standarize this one)

Cons:
- none

Oh, location. This property is about 5 minutes from the Gettysburg National Park and close by Outlets.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank majones7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W, General Manager at Courtyard Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are thrilled to have exceeded all of your expectations and to provide a comfortable home away from home. Come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Clean, clean rooms; free wifi, lovely lounge. Located about 3 miles east of Main Street, out of the traffic and noise of the city. Small indoor pool for the kiddies. Across the street from a movie theater. Need to have a car here-you are in the suburbs. Free parking and plenty of it. Buffet breakfast costs $11 per person.

Room Tip: they're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hayjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W, General Manager at Courtyard Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We take pride in our clean rooms, and appreciate the great review. Hope you'll stay again next time you're in Gettysburg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean View, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Front office staff are professional, helpful; quick check in. Rooms are clean and well kept.
For Business traveling this hotel is one of the better ones, when there is time, catch a movie in a state of the art movie theater next door you can walk to.

Room Tip: If you like a beautiful sunset, choose the even numbers, facing west on the 3 or 4 floor; or beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BE162013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W, General Manager at Courtyard Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! It is our pleasure to provide professional and friendly service to our guests. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel after booking it on Priceline and lucky again we were to get such a gem at about 80 for the night. The room was super clean, the staff made check in a breeze. They had carts available to put your luggage on to make your arrival less stress.

I find the Courtyard as a whole are a great place to stay

Room Tip: i always stay as far away from elevators as possible for two reasons. One is that your near a fire e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beamylevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W, General Manager at Courtyard Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! Glad to hear you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed our clean rooms. Come stay again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel was the most expensive on our 3 week tour but the very worst, from the start the reception staff were very offhand, we had a broken tap in our room, we had to clean our teeth in bottled water as they did not fix it despite requesting it twice. The toilet was blocked, that did get sorted straight away but overall not a good stay. Would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenniepearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W, General Manager at Courtyard Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. Your feedback is much appreciated, as it gives us an opportunity to improve. I truly apologize for the unwelcoming service you received upon check-in. This is not our standard of service, and I have spoken with the Front Office Manager to address this issue. He has also researched the service recovery issue with your lack of cold water in your room. It was unacceptable for this issue to not get resolved during your stay, and for that I apologize. I really do hope you'll consider staying with us again should you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls., MN
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

It's the 150 anniversary of the battle in Gettysburg and the hotels are doing a good business, so why not take full advantage. I stay here because it's convenient to family when I'm visiting, but next time? The room rate was high, the room OK, but for the price you'd at least expect breakfast and a newspaper. No, breakfast is good, but 11$ and you're still serving yourself, papers are supposedly stacked in the computer area, but gone unless you're an early riser.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6554321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W, General Manager at Courtyard Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for staying at our hotel, and we appreciate your feedback. I apologize for the lack of newspapers in the morning, we aim to have enough for all guests in the hotel. Unfortunately, it is Courtyard brand standard that breakfast is separate from the room rate, hence the $10.95 charge for breakfast. We hope you'll consider staying with us again next time you are in Gettysburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,328 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#5 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#8 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
2.2 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#3 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Gettysburg

Property: Courtyard Gettysburg
Address: 115 Presidential Circle, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Gettysburg
#5 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#15 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#16 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated in May 2015, the Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg is located just minutes from Gettysburg's historic sites and within the campus of Gateway Gettysburg. The Courtyard by Marriott offers 152 newly renovated guest rooms and is within minutes of the Gettysburg National Military Park, Gettysburg historic attractions, golfing, skiing, outlet shopping, Gettysburg College and Mount Saint Mary's University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Gettysburg Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing