We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service made it a disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Gettysburg
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hudson Valley, NY
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Poor service made it a disappointment”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed here as part of a swing through Pennsylania (staying at Marriott properties). We arrived late and asked for 2 doubles - which were not available when we booked. Now it was available but they wanted to charge is an extra $18. We pointed out we are Marriott gold members (50 nights a year). The front desk person refused to relent despite Marriott's policy of upgrading Gold members free if available. In any event, the pull out couch - leading to my other complaint - was pulled out for use by my older son - but it was not particularly clean and that was that. We all crowded in together into the King bed. Too bad the service was no good because otherwise location was good - but bad service was a disappointment.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PresLibraryFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    219
    86
    22
    5
See reviews for
212
196
30
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

It's new, clean and has all the amenities you need for a restful stay. The off season rate was under $100 and the staff was friendly. This hotel is right next to the Wyndham, which is more expensive, but very comparable. An added bonus is there is a full scale movie theater, with first run movies, across the parking lot. Can see how this would be great stop for families on vacation. Breakfast is not free but it is affordable ($10 for the breakfast buffet).

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank HotelDeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide South Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We'd come to expect free breakfast and assumed this was the case. The breakfast was eaten when we discovered this. However it was pretty good standard as hotel breakfasts go. The beds were the best I've ever encountered. Sublime. Clean with swish foyer and attentive staff, we were very happy with the standard, particularly as the rate was under $100 a night. And it was within walking distance of a movie theatre which was a great diversion. Discount tickets were available at reception. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Wherever I go, I know The Courtyard At Marriott is going to be a great experience. So it is in Gettysburg where the historical experience beckons me on ghost tours of civil war era homes, musty taverns and hundred year old battlefields. At the end of the day I prefer the clean, modern familiar amenities of this hotel. The service is excellent, the manager is solicitous to everyone. My husband and I ride our Harleys there for bike week and he makes sure all the bikes are protected
and is always so helpful and professional.
I look forward to many more July's in this awesome city and I can be found at my favorite hotel.

Cathy Rispoli RN
Freehold NJ

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catrispoli2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre, South Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed here for a visit to the battlefield. No free breakfast, but staff was very nice about recomending local sites for evening meal. Quiet location, located off of HW 15. Far enough off that it is quiet, but can be back on in a few minutes. Parking was plentiful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CentralSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsdale, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed at the Courtyard with my teenage son when we went to visit the battlefied and Ike's home. The hotel is about 10 minutes from the battlefield and downtown. The town is very crowded at night (even in November) so being right outside was OK. The hotel is newer and everything was neat and clean. A good choice if you don't plan to to walk around outside at night. Also there is a large movie theatre right next to the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernNJTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

One night stay in October for a college visit. Hotel is right off the highway and relatively easy to find.
Checked in and out with night staff. The young lady who checked us in was quite pleasant and professional. Room was clean and comfortable. In room coffee is terrible and there is no Starbucks nearby. Breakfast in lobby was good, and they were able to accommodate a gluten free diner both happily and confidently.
I would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,508 reviews
2.2 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,045 reviews
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#4 of 27 in Gettysburg
796 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
2.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#9 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Gettysburg

Property: Courtyard Gettysburg
Address: 115 Presidential Circle, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Gettysburg
#5 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#15 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#16 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated in May 2015, the Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg is located just minutes from Gettysburg's historic sites and within the campus of Gateway Gettysburg. The Courtyard by Marriott offers 152 newly renovated guest rooms and is within minutes of the Gettysburg National Military Park, Gettysburg historic attractions, golfing, skiing, outlet shopping, Gettysburg College and Mount Saint Mary's University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Gettysburg Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing