We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Gettysburg
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Medina, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Too expensive”
Reviewed November 8, 2011

This hotel was very clean to be sure. I can't believe at the price it did not include a continental breakfast. I've stayed at some real low budget hotels that weren't very nice and even THEY offered a continental. You could buy a breakfast at $10, which is ridiculous. The one girl who checked us in was a snip, too.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marilyn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    217
    83
    21
    5
See reviews for
209
195
29
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We spent 1 night here in early september 2011 whilst driving from Washington DC through to Niagara Falls. We had stayed at the Grand Hyatt in washington immediately before this hotel but can honestly say we were more impressed with the Courtyard Gettysburg. The rooms were modern, large and catered for our young children really well. The breakfast was adequate without being great. There were laundry facilities and a little bar open until 10pm. All in all we would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane_Qld_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 754 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed two nights at this Courtyard to visit the Gettysburg battlefields and historic areas. The hotel is situated only a couple of miles from the historic town center. The weekend we were staying there happened to be a lot of stuff going on from apple festivals, kids soccer tournaments, etc. The hotel was sold out and packed.
PROS=
Bed and rooms were comfortable.
Lobby area spacious-large with coffee and local papers
Two internet access computers to use which helped with local area restaurants, etc.
CONS=
Hotel really has no amenities, that is, it is pretty basic. No flat screen tv, no Ipod docking station, generic shampoos/soaps, etc.
The rates are not cheap at this hotel.
Breakfast was very disappointing There is a Perkins and McDonald's down the road we ended up going to on mornings 2 and 3. The Courtyard was expensive at $10/person and the food was minimal/basic.
Had to ask kids to get off the computers as they were playing video games, on FB, etc. We only needed the computer for 5 minutes to get directions.
Overall the hotel was clean, staff friendly, etc. but a bit pricey for its own good.
Recommendation - for restaurants try the historic Gettysburg town square, not as crowded and good selections

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Brklynrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

The hotel is near the main highway (but no traffic noise) and so it's convenient for getting around the Gettysburg area. Clean room and courteous staff. The breakfast buffet is unexceptional. And at $160.00 plus taxes not a particularly good value. If I should be in the Gettysburg area again, I think I'd try another hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OregonMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed here one night before touring the battlefield. The hotel is about a 10 minute ride to the Gettysburg visitor center.

At check in the person at the front desk was busy answering telephone calls and handling check ins until additonal help finally showed up.

The entire hotel is clean and the room was comfortable except for adjusting the temeperature as the the thermostat was a bit tempermental.

The restaurant served a typical breakfast buffet or some items to order.

I will stay here again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walloweye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

This may have been the cleanest hotel in which I have stayed at any price point. Location is pretty good, a little bit away from downtown Gettysburg, but close to restaurants and some shopping. It was a little pricey, however. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Steelangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpers Ferry, WV
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We just stayed here for our anniversary weekend to see the sites. The front desk was friendly & informative. It was quiet & clean as well. The walking distance to the Italian restaurant was nice. Great food! It is also walking distance to the movie theatre as well. Only 10 mins or less from the sites too!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sephorachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,473 reviews
2.2 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,022 reviews
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#4 of 27 in Gettysburg
782 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#9 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,497 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Gettysburg

Property: Courtyard Gettysburg
Address: 115 Presidential Circle, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Gettysburg
#5 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#15 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#16 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated in May 2015, the Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg is located just minutes from Gettysburg's historic sites and within the campus of Gateway Gettysburg. The Courtyard by Marriott offers 152 newly renovated guest rooms and is within minutes of the Gettysburg National Military Park, Gettysburg historic attractions, golfing, skiing, outlet shopping, Gettysburg College and Mount Saint Mary's University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Gettysburg Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing