We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, bad upkeep”
Review of Colton Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Colton Motel
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Reviewed May 22, 2007

Absolutely fabulous location! The owner is very nice and accomodating. The price was inexpensive. The rooms were very clean but in terrible shape. To give you an example: In the bathroom, they had 3 bulbs over the mirror kind of setup; one bulb worked, the other was unscrewed (to save on cost, no doubt) and the third missing; the curtains in there were very old with a long rip right down the middle of it. It felt like it wasn't taken very good care of, needed some TLC. It was clean, inexpensive and nicely located.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank tinamonforte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 328 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2007

Stayed 2 nights while on a cross country motorcycle ride. Clean, comfortable, quiet, inexpensive..great place. Will definitely retun.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
22  Thank Yellowwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2007

Love the Colton Motel. We've stayed other places in Gettysburg none compares to the service, location, and value of the Colton.
The manager, Andrew, is outstanding. He will help you find a locatiion of a monument, service station, batteries for a remote,
even fix a lumpy mattress if you let him know. There is noway you can leave without feeling you have made a new friend. Thanks for another great trip.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank kupkakeGoshen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2007

We booked this stay through a company that had made an error in our sleeping arrangment. Andrew at the desk was very friendly and easy going and helped with making the best of the situation. He quickly supplied a cot to help us out.

This is a reasonable priced Motel to allow you to be close to everything. We stayed two nights and could walk to the National Cemetary across the street. Museums and shops were an easy walk.

This motel is a simple place to stay at when you are out all day and moving around. It's not the top of the line Motel, and you are not paying top of the line price, so please don't expect that. It's an older place that could use some updating. Our room was clean, with clean sheets and towels. Our towels were replaced with clean towels the next morning. We had peace and quiet for the 2 nights. It was fine for our 2 night stay. It was a plus having Andrew behind the desk. Comfortable and easy to communicate with. No problems other than the booking company reserving the incorrect sleeping arrangement for us (which was NOT the Motel's fault).

Stayed: April 2007
30  Thank snorklebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed here last summer and loved it. It is conveniently located and Andrew & his staff are awesome. He was so helpful in helping us find stuff and giving us ideas on what to see. If there is anywhere you'd want to stay on vacation, it's at this hotel. We are planning a trip back this summer, and The Colton Motel is absolutely top on our list.

I would like to personally thank Andrew for our wonderful stay. Thank you so much for making our stay as wonderful as possible. You made us feel at home. Thanks!


See you this summer!
*Ali

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
23  Thank alexandraschaich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2007

Found the hotel to be in a great location! Walk thru the back parking lot and your looking at the battlefield cemetary. 100yards from there and you are at the Gettysburg museum. Downtown is a short walk away. There is a nice family restaurant right next door. The staff was very helpful, friendly and very knowledgable. Upon check in he noticed that we had a family of 5, and upgraded us to a family room which was larger and had three beds. The rooms are good, but could have been a bit cleaner. (perhaps a better vacuuming). the bathroom was good, and the bedding was fine. being a travel agent myself, i would not hesitate to book this for clients..you can't beat the price, location.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank kam5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2007

Very old and outdated motel. Beds are very uncomfortable; I could feel the springs. The staff is very nice and helpful. Great location, right in the middle of the town and battlefield. Room was very worn down. Kind of felt like an old worn down college dorm.

I would not stay here because there are better options. I love the Holiday Inn Battlefield. The Quality Inn and Suites is very good as well. America's Best is not very good.

Stayed: April 2007
6  Thank Cuse5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
1.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#22 of 28 in Gettysburg
120 reviews
4.0 mi away
Red Carpet Inn Gettysburg
Red Carpet Inn Gettysburg
#26 of 28 in Gettysburg
57 reviews
1.1 mi away
President Inn & Suites
President Inn & Suites
#21 of 28 in Gettysburg
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
4.2 mi away
Aspire Gettysburg Hotel
Aspire Gettysburg Hotel
#23 of 28 in Gettysburg
215 reviews
4.2 mi away
Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colton Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colton Motel

Address: 232 Steinwehr Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range: $44 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Colton Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Colton Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colton Motel Gettysburg
Colton Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing