We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back at The Colton Motel Again”
Review of Colton Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Colton Motel
Ranked #25 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Grindstone, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Back at The Colton Motel Again”
Reviewed August 17, 2009

We went over to Hanover for the reenactment
The Colton is the best place to sleep
for the price.The staff is nice and try to fulfill every request.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chuckroast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    78
    45
    33
    42
See reviews for
87
90
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2009

This hotel is fine for the budget conscious traveler who is planning to spend more time seeing the sites than hanging out at the hotel. Location is great, easy walking to shops and historical gettysburg sites. Staff was extremely nice, making restaurant suggestions and happy to help in general. I'd stay again if on a budget because of the staff and location.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slp9700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, WV
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2009

I found this motel to be perfectly clean and in order. The water pressure for the shower is the best I have ever seen. The staff was very helpful and kind to give me information about the local attractions. I would stay here again! Most all attractions are within walking distance and I did not have to pay for parking! Just left my car at the motel and walked. Why pay $150 a night when you can stay here for $69 a night? I really enjoyed my stay! Keith.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harleysanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2009

My husband is temporarily working in Gettysburg in a musical. It was late and we needed a place to stay for the night. The price was reasonable. The next morning we had the complimentary danishes and juice. My husband had to prepare for rehersal. We were not ready to leave Gettysburg. They allowed me to leave my car so that I could take the kids to do alittle site seeing. When we returned a extremely nice staff member allowed my children to play in the pool before the long ride home. I appreciate the hospitality they showed us,and will be returning to stay during the 4th of July weekend. Could use a refrigerator in the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diva_on_the_road45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kittanning, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2009

My husband and I found the Colten Motel inexpensive, clean, comfortable, spacious and wonderful in every way! They had free morning danish and coffee and the terrific staff treated us like family. We are now planning another trip back and the Colten is already booked for us! Jamiesons, Pennsylvania

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Triparoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2009

My husband and son and I have been staying at this motel for a long long time about 10 years and this by far was the worst year ever. And I can guarantee the last time we will stay there. First they put us in the upstairs room which would have been ok but the steps going up are narrow and steep and rotting and falling apart, then the deck and walk way is all rotted wood that goes up and down when you walk, not to mention very narrow, the rail is loose and falling apart and is an accident waiting to happen. I mentioned it several times and never once even though I mentioned I am disabled did they offer to move us down stairs instead we were told be lucky you have a room and walked away. On Saturday we came back to the room to find a huge bag of garbage that was left and no towels again when I mentioned it no one offered to do anything to correct it. Then on Sunday after a day at the battle field we came home to find that a 12 pack of beer and two sick packs of pepsi were missing and again when it was mentioned nothing was done at all, except for the fact that we were woken up by the maid pounding on our door asking how could we say that and no one would have done that and again when I talked to the manager and the owner they did the same thing, all I know is they did not walk out of their own their own someone stole them. They offer free wifi service except no one knows the password to allow you to get in. The worst stay ever and will never put my family through that instead of resting and relaxing I was stressed the whole time we were there.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stthomasdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gettysburg hotels

Akron, OH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2009

I visited Gettysburg from Ohio on May 19th, 2009 and I chose the Colton Motel. I am a simple traveler and I only need basic lodging. After all, most of my time spent in the room will be while I am asleep. On average, the Colton was half the price of other motels in Gettysburg so that was a great value!

When I arrived, I was very pleased with the room. The bathroom was clean, the bedding was clean, and the room overall was clean. Towels, soap, and shampoo was all laid out for the guest. In short, I could not be more pleased with my stay at the Colton. Why would anybody who only needs a simple room for an overnight stay pay over 100 dollars when the Colton is almost half the cost and just the same thing? I have to give the staff a double thumbs up for a pleasant stay in a pleasant motel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donaldjr1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.2 mi away
Inn at Cemetery Hill
Inn at Cemetery Hill
#17 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
3.9 mi away
Red Carpet Inn Gettysburg
Red Carpet Inn Gettysburg
#24 of 27 in Gettysburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#8 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
0.3 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#9 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
1.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#21 of 27 in Gettysburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colton Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colton Motel

Property: Colton Motel
Address: 232 Steinwehr Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2814
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Colton Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Colton Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colton Motel Gettysburg
Colton Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing