We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed staying here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colton Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Colton Motel
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Enjoyed staying here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The Colten is a quaint older motel. The room and bathroom were clean, the beds were comfortable. A small refrigerator was provided. There is a pool. Coffee available @ the office. The staff was wonderful! It is conveniently located, across from the cemetaries and within walking distance of attractions, shopping and downtown. Reasonable priced and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    77
    39
    31
    39
See reviews for
84
84
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
MA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We ended up in this motel because a different motel in town lost our reservation, so high marks for the Colton for being available and taking us on short notice.

This is a cheap, basic motel. It is has very basic amenities inside and the look is somewhat dated. But it was relatively clean and convenient to the Gettysburg Battlefield and other local attractions, as well as some good restaurants - so the location is prime. The bathtub in our room could use some help (a crack in the middle, the water didn't drain too fast so you got a bit of an ankle bath while you showered). But considering the price and location it was definitely fine. Despite being on a main road, it seemed quiet at night. The guy who checked us in was very nice and helpful with maps and suggestions for things to do in the area.

Nothing fancy, but if you need a place to stay for the night in Gettysburg and don't want to break your budget, this is for you. If you want something fancy, probably not.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trisarahtopss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

older,good price,clean,haunted,will stay again,staff great, small time charm, could walk street and not see anyone,next to battlefields,and on top of,they told us where to vist,only bad thing could not get soda late

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Great location, very basic/old...but sufficient for time spent in room. Nice to save some money since we were in hotels for 2 weeks. Door was sticky and curtains need replacing (worn w/ holes).
Eat at nearby dobbins tavern for French onion soup!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dachee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Had read reviews on here so we were looking for Colton's. We were just here for one night and didn't want to spend $$$$ for a nights stay. We weren't in room much. The room was nice and clean. Everyone working spoke to us and they were very friendly. Pool was clean, of course we didn't have time to swim. A.C. worked great. Would have liked a back side room with a king bed, but we were given a room with 2 double beds. We walked around for 5 hrs and loved every min. We we got back other guest were sitting outside there rooms chatting and we jointed right in. It was so nice to chat with others. We will be back many many time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tracy N Cathie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

I love staying at these mom & POP motels. The place was neat and check in was smooth. The desk clerks were so friendly and helpful. They had all the info and answered all our guestions about the area. The room was clean and neat. It could be described as "retro" but every thing worked. It is not a chain motel, so don't expect it to be like one. The price was very good.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank ekimilopan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

It was a Motel. Very old but clean. Good walking location near most things. Continental breakfast is a donut and weak coffee, if your lucky. Our room wasn't cleaned on second day and the wifi was in acessable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reddawn54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gettysburg hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
1.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#21 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 stars 100 reviews
1.1 mi away
President Inn & Suites
President Inn & Suites
#19 of 28 in Gettysburg
3.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#7 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 769 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#8 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,401 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at Cemetery Hill
Inn at Cemetery Hill
#14 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colton Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colton Motel

Property: Colton Motel
Address: 232 Steinwehr Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2814
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Colton Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Colton Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colton Motel Gettysburg
Colton Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing