We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Friendliest staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colton Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Colton Motel
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Friendliest staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Very accomodating staff! Could not ask for a better location, stayed in room 12. Nothing fancy, great for the price! Only drawback-no hairdryer:(
Highly reccomend, already planning on going back! Tommy's Pizza was excellent, great food and service!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3333sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    77
    39
    30
    38
See reviews for
82
83
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I had the motel recommended by a friend at home in Maine...when I arrived it had just begun to rain...Brenda greeted me as I drove my motorcycle into the parking lot,she directed me to park it on the enclosed walkway in front of my room!! It is not the Hilton,but very clean,centrally located, and she tries to make folks feel at home!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank george_holmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Beanda is a sweetheart a will make sure you have everything you need. The motel is located in the middle of town so walking to everything is possible. I stayed in room 20 lots of room and clean with a nice glider outside the room door.

Room Tip: Room 20 large on back side with easy access to room for easy unloading.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennellville, New York
Level Contributor
222 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

You really can't beat the price.If you're bringing kids,it's cheap enough(compared to other nearby lodging) that you could probably spring for two rooms. This place is dated, but clean. It's walking distance to lots of shops and eateries. No frige or coffee maker( the wiring in the motel is too old for them). You could walk to the circle in the middle of town in 10-15 minutes. It's right across from the cemetary.This place has some sort of "ghostly" connection. But since there is no such thing as ghosts, I didn't see any. I have no compaints. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank verybigv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Staying at tge colton,again! Have stayed there the last 4 times we' ve gone there and never had any problems,right in the middle of everything!It is a nice,clean motel,in a great area,food and gift shops right next door,National Cemetary within walking distance,ghost tours across the street.Picketts Buffet ( YOU HAVE TO EAT HERE! )right up the street.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unionboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My friend and I stayed here while visiting the battlefield. You can't beat the price but there's a few things to be aware of: as mentioned previously, the cemetery side rooms are the quietest, the tv in our room was the old tube style and you may want to bring your own toilet paper. The supplied TP is somewhere between the softness of gift wrapping paper and newspaper. A trip to Walmart took care of it. Staff was very friendly. The beds were very comfortable but firm. The room was extremely, and I mean extremely, clean. Location can't get any better. Everything is within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My review has been a while in coming but here we go...I stayed at the Colton for 12 nights last October and I'm here to tell you that I could find no better value than this well run establishment. I visit Gettysburg every year for the history and the ghosts and have stayed at many hotels around town, all of which were much more expensive than the Colton and couldn't offer the great location that this place can. It is right in the center of everything, you can leave your car in front of your room and walk just about everywhere. The National Cemetery is literally right behind the motel, East Cemetery Hill, Cemetery Ridge, museums, ghost tours, shopping and food are all only a few minutes away on foot. The staff is friendly and make you fell like one of the family, the rooms are neat, clean and good size. This is one of the older motels of the 60s & 70s era and doesn't have a lot of the "frills" offered by the more expensive hotels or motels in town but it does have good WiFi, comfortable rooms, and the staff is top-notch...from management to the front desk to housekeeping they are some of the best I've seen and no hotel staff has ever made me feel more at home than the staff at the Colton! As I mentioned earlier, I travel to Gettysburg every year and have already made reservations at the Colton for my next trip! So if you're looking for a clean, comfortable room, great staff and a location that can't be beat, all for an outstanding price, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms in the back, close to the National Cemetery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJJAlbuquerque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
1.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#20 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 stars 100 reviews
1.1 mi away
President Inn & Suites
President Inn & Suites
#19 of 28 in Gettysburg
3.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#8 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 767 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#9 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at Cemetery Hill
Inn at Cemetery Hill
#15 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colton Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colton Motel

Property: Colton Motel
Address: 232 Steinwehr Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2814
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Colton Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Colton Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colton Motel Gettysburg
Colton Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing