We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a plesant, comfortable weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“What a plesant, comfortable weekend”
Reviewed October 25, 2010

We were a group of 10 friends wanting to experience Gettysburg and have a comfortable place to sleep and relax. We could not have found a better place than the Hilton Garden Inn. The staff was very helpful and fun to work with, the food was excellent, and the rooms were large and clean. Can't remember when I had such a comfortable bed and pillow in a hotel. If you,re going to Gettysburg, the Hilton Garden Inn should be your first choice for accommodations.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Archieduncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    333
    129
    29
    9
See reviews for
393
314
68
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Avondale, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2010

The amenities are of a caliber you have come to expect from any Hilton property. But more than that is the staff. I traveled a great deal before retiring, and have rarely found a staff so willing,so friendly and so helpful. They really made the whole trip. Nothing we asked was to great for them. In my opinion if you are going to Gettysburg this is the ONLY place you should consider.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kastay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmvendetti27, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg, responded to this review, February 3, 2011
Thank you so very much for the kind words! We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delaware
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

We only stayed here one night while sightseeing in Gettysburg. The bed was comfortable (although my girlfriend complained about the pillows), the staff courteous, the room was clean, the hotel was only a few years old, and the nearby stores and restaurants were... just like home. Giant Foods(including gas pumps) and Arbys were within walking distance, WalMart, Ruby Tuesdays, CVS, etc were close, and the traffic wasn't too bad outside of town. Like the other reviewers have mentioned, it was hard to find the entrance. The breakfast wasn't worth the price, so we'd advise eating elsewhere, unless your kids like to eat at a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikerpics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington
Level 6 Contributor
424 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

We stayed at this hotel a couple of miles outside of Gettysburg for 3 nights. Our room, number 327, was spacious with a bath and at the end of the building, well away from the lift. The room was very quiet with little noise from outside sources (apart from an occasionally elephant pounding in the room above us – why do people make so much noise simply walking around?). We had a small fridge, microwave (though no utensils or plates) and coffee (no tea) making facilities. One minor dislike was that there was only one easy chair plus a not so comfortable computer chair. The TV was a large flat screen though not HD.

The hotel had its own laundry room where guests can do their own washing and drying – one machine of each type, cost $1.50, all in quarters. Our room had an iron and board. Having been on holiday for 5 days we quickly took advantage and did a wash, which lasted about 30 minutes.

Try to avoid a room near the lift! When it arrives, it makes a loud pinging noise which I would think would be clearly heard in nearby rooms and could be infuriating. Surely it is not necessary for such a loud noise. Complain to the hotel if you are affected.

The hotel’s Business Centre was excellent. Everything worked (unlike in another HGI hotel in New York where it was not possible to download a file due to the peculiar interface they used – the Gettysburg used a conventional Internet Explorer interface). No problem printing files and it was all free for guests.

The hotel has a swimming pool and gym facilities but we did not have time to use them. They looked fine though.

Breakfast was excellent - $9.95 for a buffet breakfast including food freshly cooked to order (the same type of buffet breakfast was $6 more in New York - a rip-off). As Hilton Gold card holders we got breakfast for ‘free’. Muffins, a weakness of mine, were big (bigger than those in the New York hotel). One odd feature was the tiny saucers used with the coffee/tea mugs. Also only white bread was available. We do dislike the American habit of setting the air conditioning so cold. We almost had to wear our coats for breakfast! Other people were cold also – one family moved to finish their breakfast in front of an artificial fire. The USA could save a lot in energy bills by raising the temperature by a degree or two without suffering any inconvenience.

The hotel had its own restaurant which we used one evening. I had prawns with linguini – this was cooked in a white wine and garlic sauce. Beware of this dish because they didn’t mention the chilli which of course makes it very spicy hot – luckily I like such food so enjoyed it greatly. I didn’t think the prawns were fresh though (i.e. they were cooked from frozen). My wife had a salad but the dressing was forgotten. The hotel restaurant has a limited menu and is not heavily patronised. However, the hotel appears to be trying to improve its evening meals by offering special deals so look out for these.

One great feature we liked about the hotel was the free cookies placed on the counter in the evenings. These were yummy and meant that we didn’t need to have desserts in the restaurants.

There are restaurants near to the hotel that are within walking distance. However, there are no pavements on which to walk – as we are British we object in principle to using a car to travel less than a mile! So we resorted to walking along the hard shoulder of the main road – ignoring the strange looks from the American motorists!

Ruby Tuesday is nearby and within easy walking distance – we ate there twice. However, it also had the problem of excessively cold air-conditioning. We saw several people putting on jackets or sweaters.

Near to the hotel there is a big Giant supermarket which is open 24/7.

We had one minor problem during our stay at the hotel and, to the hotel’s credit, was easily sorted out. We found that a block had been placed on our credit card. After contacting my credit card company, using the hotel room telephone, I found that this had been caused by the hotel putting a charge/hold for our stay on the card – due to the amount (only $550) the credit card company found this to be a suspicious transaction! As I had pre-paid for the room, the hotel should not have made this charge/hold. We were pleased that the hotel waived our telephone charge.

We loved our stay in this hotel and highly recommend it. We would certainly return. It is ideally placed for touring the Gettysburg battlefield and other nearby battlefields.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RossOrpington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2010

This hotel seemed rather new and was conveniently located for sight-seeing purposes. I only marked it down to four stars because I, personally, didn't think the breakfast offerings were as good as others we have had at other Hilton Garden Inns. The cooking was only so-so and there were no real whole grain offerings in the way of bread or rolls. I am a diabetic and these foods are important to me. Times are changing and hotel breakfasts should keep up with food trends. There is very little, if any, added cost involved. I would skip their breakfast and look to other places where it may not be healthier, but at least tastier.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank buckigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etobicoke,Ontario
2 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2010

Though this hotel is not located right by the Gettysburg Battlefield it is conventiently located and is an easy drive to the battlefield and to the centre of town (Lincoln Square).

Our room was bright and airy and we were fortunate to have a window that we could open as my husband is a smoker.

Everyone at the hotel was very pleasant and the breakfast plan was more then adequate. Instead of eating out for dinner we chose to buy our meal from the food store behind the hotel which had everything from a salad bar..to sandwiches...roast chicken and more.

Lincoln Square is charming and beautifully presented. My husband and I enjoyed an evening in the square watching people pass by while enjoying the old world charm Gettysburg had to offer.

We hope one day to re-visit this very historic town though we ourselves are not American we could feel the very presense of those who once lived and fought there.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorotheeA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOHNSTOWN, PA
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

I don't have a thing to complain about with this hotel except it is hard to find the entrance. A sign at the red light where you need to turn would be helpful. You need to turn by the Arbys not by the hotel sign.

I got there at 11 am before I had to make a presentation at an hotel. I chose this hotel because they had smoking rooms and I like the Hilton brand. I was able to check in and my room was great and as requested. There was no smoke smell in the hall and the hotel was very clean.

I did the breakfast package and it was a nice cooked to order breakfast each morning. I loved the waffles. I stayed two nights in room 410. There was plenty of parking and the front desk staff was great.

No noise from the neighbors. And unlike the hotel downtown where some of my colleagues stayed I had no street noise at night. Nice beds with a good selection of pillows. I truly describe this hotel as lovely. It is a nice combination of a Hilton and a Hampton Inn.

There was a large closet, 2 big drawers and 2 small ones. Very good selection of tv channels. There is a gas station and strip mall close by with a grocery store.

I would stay here again, it was a very nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HOSKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,508 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#4 of 27 in Gettysburg
796 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#3 of 27 in Gettysburg
558 reviews
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#9 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
Address: 1061 York Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#1 Green Hotel in Gettysburg
#11 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg hotel in Pennsylvania is located in the heartland of American freedom with historical sights, museums and just minutes from the Gettysburg Battlefield and National Park Visitor Center. The Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg is located on part of the former Camp Letterman Civil War hospital! The hotel is also near attractions such as the Gettysburg College, Gettysburg Heritage Museum, The Outlets Shoppes, Gettysburg Visitors Center, Gettysburg Lutheran Seminary and Mount Saint Mary's College. Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg is home to the Garden Grille & Bar Restaurant that offers breakfast, dinner & drinks daily to guests and general public. The hotel is a great central location for Pennsylvania cities and attractions. York, Harrisburg and Hershey Lancaster, DC, and Baltimore are nearby cities all with attractions for the Pennsylvania visitor. The hotel is an award winning hotel of "Pick of the County" via the Gettysburg Times, Hilton Garden Inn "You can count on us" 2013 Brand award winner for community service, and is proudly a part of the Hilton Garden Inn Brands JD Power Award! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Gettysburg Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing