We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced/Not up to par”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced/Not up to par”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

We are loyal to this brand, but agreed this location did not maintain the Hilton standards. Breakfast service poor/dirty tables everywhere. Had to request linen changes for our bed, towels old and worn. Didn't look like anyone vacuumed or dusted, we stayed four nights. We were charged $179 a night, a big rip off because we were there around the holiday time/Gettysburg celebration. Be aware, this hotel does not have any suite accomodations, which we did not know. It is a bit of a drive into town, but certainly not too inconvenient. The hotel was full by Friday 7/2 and quite noisey, but we slept well. We would not choose this hotel again. My husband is a professional road warrior, he said this hotel failed to even come close to the usual Garden Inn standard of cleanliness or service, I agree. Oh, and the "indoor pool" is more like a large whirlpool, maybe 6 people could enjoy it, that's it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sekhmetgizamau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    320
    126
    25
    9
See reviews for
373
300
66
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, NY
Level Contributor
95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2010

Stayed for three nights end of June 2010. We found the front desk staff to always be very polite and helpful. We had a room with two queen sized beds. It looked and smelled clean. The beds were comfortable. The room had a microwave and refrigerator which is a nice feature. My only complaint about the room would be no exhaust fan in bathrooms. The pool is small, but only the teenaged son used it. Our deal included breakfast each day and I thought that was a good deal. It is normally $9.95 per person and includes a buffet with make-your-own waffles, juices, milk, coffee and tea, bagels and toast, muffins, cereal, fruit and yogurt. You also get made to order eggs, french toast, and meats if you want. The dining room is small so getting there early is a good idea if the hotel is full. The location of the hotel was great for us. It is very close to everything we wanted to see (battlefield, shops, historic houses and Segway tours).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indigodawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MO
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2010

Garden Inn lives up to it's rep for a comfortable room to sleep in. We did not pay for the breakfast, but we did eat dinner in their dining facility. The server was harried and the service was consequently poor. The food was mediocre and meagre. Example: pasta with no parmesan, no seasonings on the food, no bread, that kind of thing. Very processed flavor. Still, with other places to eat downtown in Gettysburg, and probably a good breakfast for $10 cost, I'd recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmcoffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton, NY
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2010

We stayed at Hilton Garden Inn, Gettysburg 6/25/10-6/27/10. I paid $278 tax included for 2 nights. Hotel seemed new and was very clean! The lobby was fairly small, but room was large enough for two grown people to co-exist easily. Refrig & microwave were provided. Beds were comfortable. The location, in IMO, was perfect. It was away from the busy congested center of Gettysburg but still less than 10 minutes from battlefield. A complimentary breakfast would have been nice, but lots of eating choices were nearby. We had little contact with staff except at check-in. The clerk was nice and quite cheerful.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Eastern New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2010

I stayed at the hotel Sunday into Monday, Memorial Day Weekend, 2010. I had stayed at the HGI up in Harrisburg, PA a few years ago and I thought I would check this one out. Overall it was a good value. With AAA discount, it was $128 for the night, incl taxes and fees. The room was large and had really comfortable beds. It featured a fridge and microwave. The room did not have an HD TV. Pool was small but nice. The hot tub was hot enough but the bubble feature wasn't working properly. Unlike the lobby restaurant in the Harrisburg HGI, ths one was not open for dinner. It was open for breakfast, however. There is an Arby's right near the hotel and a McDonald's accross the street. There is also a Giant supermarket behind the hotel. The hotel staff was friendly. The hotel is not far from Gettysburg, the battlefield and other attractions. Like the other HGI, this was a good value for the money, esp. considering I booked it two days before the big holiday weekend.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILoveAHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2010

Great hotel with freindly extremely helpful stall. This hotel is great for someone with a car, everything included at hotel, inside pool, business centre, laundry, near to shopping centre and many resturants. To make the expereince complete there is free tea and coffee every afternoon with fresh baked cookies straight from the kitchen for free.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babiesquuensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2010

I just recently got back from a 2 night stay at the Hilton Garden Inn at Gettysburg. I thought we got a really good deal on the room and enjoyed our time there. The hotel looks brand new inside and out. The room was spotless and very comfortable. It had a mini fridge and microwave. The bed was very comfortable and I had a good night's rest on it. The free wi-fi was outstanding. I don't think i've ever experienced internet this fast in a hotel before.

The view left something to be desired....we had the view of the Giant grocery store that sits behind the hotel. I guess I expected too much that we might have a decent view....I just figured Gettysburg was rather rural and we might have the view of some farm land.

The hotel does seem a little understaffed at the front desk. Checking in we had to wait in a line while one clerk checked everyone in. One time when we returned we had to wait a few minutes at the front desk for a replacement room key....nobody was manning the front desk. Later in that evening my friend went down to get some popcorn from the pantry. She waited at the front desk to let the clerk know what she had gotten and to charge it to our room. Nobody ever showed so she came back up to the room and phoned the front desk about 20 minutes later to let them know to charge it to the room. They never did end up charging the room for the 3 bags of popcorn we received. Just seems to me like a hotel would want somebody always at the front desk but in this economy they are probably just trying to cut corners. With that being said, the front desk clerks were always very nice and the clerk who checked us in apologized for the wait.

While we were in Gettysburg we visited Amish Country which was a little over an hour drive. We also visited Hershey Park which was about an hour drive. There was a fabulous chinese place in the shopping center behind the hotel. We had food delievered one night and it was terrific, we highly recommend it. I believe it was called New Garden. The Giant grocery store was also within a short walk as well as an Arby's that's almost in the same parking lot.

So all in all we were very pleased and if we come back to Gettysburg we would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank banjo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,384 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#3 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Gettysburg
Courtyard Gettysburg
#13 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
Address: 1061 York Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#1 Green Hotel in Gettysburg
#11 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg hotel in Pennsylvania is located in the heartland of American freedom with historical sights, museums and just minutes from the Gettysburg Battlefield and National Park Visitor Center. The Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg is located on part of the former Camp Letterman Civil War hospital! The hotel is also near attractions such as the Gettysburg College, Gettysburg Heritage Museum, The Outlets Shoppes, Gettysburg Visitors Center, Gettysburg Lutheran Seminary and Mount Saint Mary's College. Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg is home to the Garden Grille & Bar Restaurant that offers breakfast, dinner & drinks daily to guests and general public. The hotel is a great central location for Pennsylvania cities and attractions. York, Harrisburg and Hershey Lancaster, DC, and Baltimore are nearby cities all with attractions for the Pennsylvania visitor. The hotel is an award winning hotel of "Pick of the County" via the Gettysburg Times, Hilton Garden Inn "You can count on us" 2013 Brand award winner for community service, and is proudly a part of the Hilton Garden Inn Brands JD Power Award! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Gettysburg Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing