We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, but top floor may as well be nothing but smoking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but top floor may as well be nothing but smoking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2009

Stayed here for two nights in March 2009. The rooms were nice, though not exceptionally large. The check-in process was flawless and we were given some nice amenities since we are Honors Gold VIP members. We were on the fourth (top) floor and as soon as we got off the elevators we were greeted with a very strong smell of stale cigarette smoke. The hotel has this floor split between smoking and non-smoking. The smell was not bad on our side of the hall and you could not smell it in our room. The beds were comfy and the bathroom was great. The TV was great too, though I thought they advertised flat screen TVs- no matter, I wasn't there to watch TV. The wireless Internet was atrociously slow and I had a very weak connection. The pillows on the bed were a bit too fat for a stomach sleeper like me. Luckily we had free passes for breakfast because I would've been quite mad to have had to pay for it. The food tasted good, but the whole ordering process was confusing and the service was weak. There were a few (not many) people waiting on breakfast one morning and they had 4 staff members in the kitchen and dining area and it seemed like they were in total chaos. I asked for some silverware and the lady handed me a bunch of napkins and a gob of knives, forks, and spoons! It took around 15 minutes to get my simple omelet and bacon. I must say, the bacon was great. That night, around 9:45 we noticed a strong smell of cigarette smoke wafting into our room. It was horrible and we phoned the desk and were moved to another floor. We were told the only floor with smoking was the fourth floor (our luck!). So, we moved to the third and it was OK, though noisy- I guess everyone was staying on the 3rd floor. The front desk member gave us $20 off of our rate, so that was quite nice. Breakfast the next day was better managed, and less chaotic, but still took way too long to get my food or have my order taken. I would stay here again if the price was right, but I prefer the Hampton Inn in Gettysburg. The front desk staff were great, the kitchen staff not at all, and one restaurant server- a younger lady, she was great.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amishfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    320
    126
    25
    9
See reviews for
373
300
66
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
695 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 387 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2009

The Hilton Garden Inn is a newer hotel located off of Rt. 15 in Gettysburg. There is a shopping center behind the hotel with a grocery store, a few shops, and a pizza place. There is also a gas station and an Arby's nearby. There are many other restaurants and shops that you can quickly drive to.

My check-in at the hotel went smoothly. I was made to feel very welcome and the clerk explained to me all the hotel offered and what was nearby. I was given two coupons for free bottled water so that was a nice gesture.

The hotel has a very nice business center on the first floor. It is in a room you must use your key to gain access to. It had two personal computers with high speed internet access; a full size copying machine, a fax machine and a laser jet printer.

A fitness ceter had a treadmill, stair stepper and recumbent bike. There was also an indoor pool. The hotel had coin operated washing machines and dryers.

The lobby had the American Grill Restaurant that served dinners and a $9.95 breakfast in the mornings. There was also a little shopping area that offered food and beverages and sundry items.

My room was clean and had a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and iron and ironing board. I had a flat screen television that could be rotated to where I was in the room. There was a lounge chair with foot rest, a desk and swivel chair.

My stay was pleasant and I had a fast checkout by the telephone. I would stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NCTraveler2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2008

Friendly staff at check in, and very accommodating on ground floors (requested prior to check in). Free Wifi. Nice lobby in this new hotel. Buffet breakfast good. Quiet.

The pool and whirlpool was a nice addition, in particular after a full day walking miles (!) at Gettysburg.

Note that the only downsize is that you are about a 10-minute drive to central Gettysburg, so watch out for peak rush hour travel.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank J&MDAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2008

This is a clean, comfortable, and safe hotel. Attractive lobby
area and our room while small was entirely adequate. Bathroom was small and no where to really put toiletries as
the counter does not have drawers or a shelf available.

The bed was SOOOO comfortable. Hilton has it right when
they put these beds in their hotels. I have never slept on such
a comfortable king bed such as this one! Bedding was clean and fresh and the towels, while not fancy, were fluffy and new.
Everything was so nice and clean.

Best of all, since I have a food intolerance (gluten free/celiac) I
was worried about finding adequate food to heat up in the
microwave in our room.

No worries because there is a Gettysburg Giant Supermarket
that is within walking distance or by car (2 minutes) that is conveniently located behind the hotel. This grocery had everything I needed and extensive wheat free/gluten free
selection of cereals, frozen entrees, and cookies.

This made our two night stay very easy and pleasant. I also
liked the fact that they have coffee, decaf, and tea available in
the lobby entrance as well as cookies later in the afternoon.

Their buffet breakfast costs $13.00 but they had a nice
selection of fruit (wonderful strawberries) omelets, bacon,
cereal, etc. Well worth the price as the hotel cost is very
reasonable.

A nice retreat after sightseeing in Gettysburg all
day.

  • Liked — Overall cleanliness and the comfy bed
  • Disliked — the lace of space in bathroom to place toiletries, etc. They could put a shelf in or even provide a basket to hold supplies
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank littleleers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
203 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2008

Hilton Garden Inn was great. We paid $125 by calling the hotel directly and using my AAA membership. Hotel was a few miles from the sights and easy to get to. Hotel room was comfortable for our family of five. We had two double beds and a cot (free of charge). Air conditioning was also comfortable. Quiet room, sizable closet, adequate toiletries. Great lobby area, complimentary tea, coffee, and hot cocoa all day (Big plus for my children) and cookies in the evening. This was our third stay in a Hilton Garden Inn and we loved it.

  • Liked — free hot beverages
  • Disliked — would love a simple continental breakfast to be included
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank steady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
430 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 562 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2008

Stayed for several days in August. While the hotel is new and looks nice, I had a series of unfortunate events that soured the visit.

The front desk called me on two different mornings to request a re-swipe of my credit card. Having had identity theft before, this is a very serious concern.

There seemed to be only one person working the desk and lobby at a time, ever. That made checking in and out very slow!

I went to the restaurant to have breakfast and was promptly ignored by the staff. After six minutes, I left.

The room's HVAC seemed to sit either too high or too low for my preferences. As the whole building felt damp & quite humid to me, I wonder if they are having issues with venting the pool that resides on the first floor.

Both elevators were out of service for an entire day. I don't mind the exercise, but some elderly patrons were quite agitated!

A lot of the exercise equipment, even though pretty new, seemed to be in disrepair. I don't know of this is due to rough use, children playing with the equipment, or what- but I expect there to be a working treadmill, a couple of exercise machines, and some free weights/dumbbells. I was dissapointed.

As a result of my mixed experience, I'd look at other hotels before deciding to come back to this one. The room was OK, but my entire experience left a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YaleDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2008

My husband and I traveled to Gettysburg last month and stayed at this hotel. It was just as we would expect from the Hilton Hotels.

The beds were extremely comfortable, the rooms and the bathroom were very clean as well, as was the entire hotel, and everything was kept well-stocked throughout our stay.

The staff members were extremely helpful and always pleasant! We loved the coffee station in the lobby that was available 24 hours, that was very convenient and nice to have!

It is only a very short, maybe 7 minute drive (if even that) to the battlefield and downtown shopping. Not a problem, since we had our car anyway and planned on driving around town.

We are returning to this hotel in November, have already booked our room. If you stay here, you won't be disappointed!

  • Liked — Comfort, cleanliness and convenience
  • Disliked — Hmmm....can't think of anything!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Keri_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,386 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#3 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Gettysburg
Courtyard Gettysburg
#13 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
Address: 1061 York Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gettysburg
#1 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#11 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg hotel in Pennsylvania is located in the heartland of American freedom with historical sights, museums and just minutes from the Gettysburg Battlefield and National Park Visitor Center. The Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg is located on part of the former Camp Letterman Civil War hospital! The hotel is also near attractions such as the Gettysburg College, Gettysburg Heritage Museum, The Outlets Shoppes, Gettysburg Visitors Center, Gettysburg Lutheran Seminary and Mount Saint Mary's College. Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg is home to the Garden Grille & Bar Restaurant that offers breakfast, dinner & drinks daily to guests and general public. The hotel is a great central location for Pennsylvania cities and attractions. York, Harrisburg and Hershey Lancaster, DC, and Baltimore are nearby cities all with attractions for the Pennsylvania visitor. The hotel is an award winning hotel of "Pick of the County" via the Gettysburg Times, Hilton Garden Inn "You can count on us" 2013 Brand award winner for community service, and is proudly a part of the Hilton Garden Inn Brands JD Power Award! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Gettysburg Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing