We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Room - Skip Breakfast” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
minnesota
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice Room - Skip Breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

This was a pretty typical HGI. The rooms were clean and spacious and the beds were comfy. No complaints there at all. The location was only a five minute drive into the heart of the old downtown and the parking and internet were free. TIP: confirm your bedding request for two real queen beds. We reserved to queens months ago and were given a queen and pull out upon checkin. Having said that, the front desk did make the change upon request and was very nice about it. I found the price a bit high for the area, but great if you have HHonors pts to use.

Believe the reviews below and avoid breakfast. I was there for breakfast 3 days in a row at very different times each day and it took 25-30 minutes for the food to arrive each time (and once we were ALONE in seating area). I think the hotel has hired staff to serve the food in an effort to speed things up and cure their food services woes. Sadly, the wait staff is polite but seems utterly overwhelmed with writing down simple orders. One poor girl didn't know what fried eggs were. I don't know how it can take 30 minutes for two fried eggs and bacon (which was pre-made anyway). The cook appeared to be moving in some sort of slow motion. The quality of the food-to-order isn't great either. The eggs were horrid, greasy and cold. The food that you could grab yourself (cereal, fruit, and oddly - waffles) was quite good. For the same $9.95 you pay for breakfast here - go to the Perkins a couple of blocks away.

Summary - if you'll skip the restaurant, you'll have a nice stay at the HGI Gettysburg.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mholder37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmvendetti27, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
We apologize that you received the wrong room preference upon arrival. We did upgrade some of our rooms to studio suites with the living room area, and the desk should have checked with you upon arrival to confirm your booking type. I will be certain to share your issue with our Front Dest Supervisor. I also will share your experiences in our Resturant... I do apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Thank you for taking the time to make us aware and share with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    317
    123
    24
    9
See reviews for
367
296
65
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
114 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

I recently stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and the rooom, front desk staff andall the other employees were great, the only negative is the restaurant, the food was not good. My fellow travellers ordered shrimp cocktail that need to be sent back as it was bad and the steaks ordered were very under cooked. As far as breakfast I ordered an omlette and the eggs paper thin and the chef barely put any ham or chees in the omlette. So in conclusion the hotel was exceptionally clean, the staff was great and the food ... not so much.

Room Tip: Smoking rooms are available upon request
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deeeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmvendetti27, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Thank you so much for your review on our property! We are thrilled to know your experience with the hotel was a positive one, and sorry to hear that your experience with our restaurant was not... I'll certainly share your concerns with the F&B Manager so we can address them. If you wish to address any additional concerns with our F&B Manager you may reach her at Rachel.Shope@hilton.com Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

Overall our stay was pretty good. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean and quiet. Customer service was good as well during the check in/out process. Only issue we had was occasional odor of cigarette smoke in the room. We couldn't tell if it was coming from outside or the room next door (our room had the door to the adjacent room). I called the front desk, they said they would check it out as well and offered to bring us some spray. I declined and asked if it would be possible to move if the smell got too bad for my girlfriends asthma - they said if needed they would try to accomodate.

Breakfast was included for us and was pretty good. No frills cooked to order breakfast got the job done and sent us on our way to explore Gettysburg.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderinArlingtonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmvendetti27, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Thank you so much for sharing this review on our property! I am pleased to know you had an enjoyable stay. We are 100% Non Smoking and certainly apologize that you had a concern with another guest smoking in the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights. The hotel was very clean, and not too far from everything (about a 5-7 minute drive to downtown, the visitors center, battlefields, etc.). The front desk staff were helpful, and for the price, I would definitely recommend it. The rooms had refrigerators and microwaves, and with a grocery store right behind it, you could save some money on snacks, or quick breakfasts. The pool was a bit small, but was rarely crowded, so it wasn't a big deal. My son just enjoyed the evening swims after all day walking around. The only downside was the restaurant, if you can call it that. They do have a breakfast buffet in the morning, which is probably a good value at $9.95 for all you can eat. But we were generally in a hurry to get going, and aren't big breakfast eaters. So, for what we ate, $9.95 was way too steep. Then we had to stand in line at the front desk to pay, along with other guests who were checking out. It took forever. We tried room service on the first night - right after we checked in. The phone rang and rang for 20 minutes before anyone picked up. On our last night, we wanted to just stay in and relax, so we decided to go to the restaurant, which is really just several or so tables on one side on the lobby. We sat down, and waited almost 20 minutes. No one came to wait on us, although someone kept looking from the window into the kitchen area. There were 3 or 4 other tables of people eating, so I know they were "open." We finally got up and left. Very bizarre and disappointing. If you take the whole restaurant experience out of the mix, the rest of the hotel was fine, actually quite nice. I just wouldn't plan on eating there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinmomma1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmvendetti27, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! I am pleased your overall experience was a good one and I will certainly share your concerns with the Resturant Manager so she can address them. We do, as all Hilton Garden Inns' do, offer ala carte options if you do not desire to have the full Cooked-to-Order Buffet option.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
195 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

I see others complain about lack of breakfast, which is included at Hampton Inn and Holiday Inn Express; those "limited service" hotels do not have a restaurant, but do provide some sort of breakfast.
We participate in Hilton Honors (presently "gold") and have chosen the "breakfast option" available to gold members. Hence, we get some breakfast or reduced price on breakfast at some Hilton properties (Hampton Inn, which is also a Hilton property, has complementary breakfast). We found the breakfast buffet perfectly adequate, with many foods (eggs, pancakes) cooked to order, and similar to the buffets at other Hilton Garden Inns. We liked the breakfast.
The location is fine (just out of town) and convenient to the battlefields, museum, and downtown Gettysburg.
People at the front desk were helpful (both on the phone before we arrived and in person), with dinner and attraction suggestions.
The room was clean.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebfk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmvendetti27, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor! We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and breakfast at our location. Gold & Diamond Members of the Hilton Honors program do have the option of 750 additional bonus points or breakfast for up to 2 guests each day of their stay with Hilton Garden Inns! For our travelers whom have not yet reached Gold or Diamond status or, not currently enrolled in the HHonors program; you may opt for the Bed & Breakfast package which offer breakfast at 50% off for Adults, while children under 17 each free! A great way to save money and increase value when traveling with your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
189 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

Our family stayed here for 3 nights for our family reunion. It is a new, modern hotel just minutes from downtown and near a grocery store and a Walmart. The rooms are large and comfortable. The indoor pool, while small, provided hours of fun for the younger set. We had a meeting room that we used all weekend. The only downside of the hotel is that breakfast was not included. However, the dining room was open and offered a $9 breakfast. The staff was very helpful in helping us to arrange our family reunion.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmvendetti27, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Thank you so much for hosting your family reunion with us and taking the time to share your experience! We certainly look forward to working with you again in the near future and assisting with future lodging needs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed at the Hilton on our way home from our actual vacation. The staff was phenomenal! It was the cleanest room I've ever seen, food at the restaurant was good and convenient. Melissa was exceptional. She really knows her town. She booked our tours, gave great restaurant recommendations and even went to the store to get candy I requested but they don't normally carry. The whole staff was friendly. This pass through was better than our actual vacation! THANK YOU!!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven8420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmvendetti27, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Thank you so much for the kind words! Melissa is an exceptional employee with our property and we will be thrilled to pass your kind words along to her and the rest of our team. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,359 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#3 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
Address: 1061 York Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#1 Green Hotel in Gettysburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#11 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg hotel in Pennsylvania is located in the heartland of American freedom with historical sights, museums and just minutes from the Gettysburg Battlefield and National Park Visitor Center. The Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg is located on part of the former Camp Letterman Civil War hospital! The hotel is also near attractions such as the Gettysburg College, Gettysburg Heritage Museum, The Outlets Shoppes, Gettysburg Visitors Center, Gettysburg Lutheran Seminary and Mount Saint Mary's College. Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg is home to the Garden Grille & Bar Restaurant that offers breakfast, dinner & drinks daily to guests and general public. The hotel is a great central location for Pennsylvania cities and attractions. York, Harrisburg and Hershey Lancaster, DC, and Baltimore are nearby cities all with attractions for the Pennsylvania visitor. The hotel is an award winning hotel of "Pick of the County" via the Gettysburg Times, Hilton Garden Inn "You can count on us" 2013 Brand award winner for community service, and is proudly a part of the Hilton Garden Inn Brands JD Power Award! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Gettysburg Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing