We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must see” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gettysburg Seminary Ridge Museum

Gettysburg Seminary Ridge Museum
Ranked #12 of 103 things to do in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Start your Gettysburg visit here, and STEP INSIDE one of the Civil War's most historic buildings--discover inspiring stories about the first day of fighting, care of the wounded, and the larger issues of faith and freedom. Take a guided tour of the famous cupola used by Gen. John Buford, and can wander the halls and hear the floors creak. Group friendly. Family friendly. Handicap accessible (except attic and cupola).
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Sabin, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

I was looking forward to visiting here since it opened last year. I had read many good thing about it and was not disappointed. They have done a great job with their pieces and have utilized technology very well to tell the story of the Seminary and the battle

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank honcneffsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    77
    23
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Great Mills, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
128 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent museum on Civil War medicine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

We spent several hours here and thoroughly enjoyed the visit! Personally the cupola option is expensive at $20 each. The fee is $9.00 just to tour the museum. Each floor portrays a different aspect of the battle. We recommend that you watch the introductory video on each floor before visiting the various rooms on it. If you have the time and are interested, Frederick, MD has a Civil War Medicine Museum that is an excellent companion to this one. It is about an hour from Gettysburg. The two give an excellent overview of medicine at that time.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Travel14”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

An excellent museum to visit. We started on the 4th floor as recommended + thought all the videos were very interesting.The chairs + benches were appreciated since I'm disabled. The only negative I thought the Cupola tour was a little pricey.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank lighthouse62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well thought out and interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

A new museum that is very well done. I didn't go to the top view or have the private tour. Instead, I just paid the museum rate and, as recommended, started on the fourth floor and worked my way down. It was a really smart way to organize the museum and each floor has a theme/focus. The content was moving and (warning for parents) sometimes a bit intense, but well worth it and an excellent conversation starter. Plus, there is a nice walking path just outside and some great views to enjoy around the museum. Easy parking and access.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elbyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigantine
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

was worth the time. gives you an idea of what the view was on the day of the battle. also showed how it was setup as a hospital during and after battle. there is an elevator so it is handicapped accessible.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gettysburg Seminary Ridge Museum also viewed

 

Been to Gettysburg Seminary Ridge Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing