We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful and informative”

Gettysburg Seminary Ridge Museum
Ranked #11 of 103 things to do in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Start your Gettysburg visit here, and STEP INSIDE one of the Civil War's most historic buildings--discover inspiring stories about the first day of fighting, care of the wounded, and the larger issues of faith and freedom. Take a guided tour of the famous cupola used by Gen. John Buford, and can wander the halls and hear the floors creak. Group friendly. Family friendly. Handicap accessible (except attic and cupola).
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Hummels Wharf, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
99 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful and informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We were very impressed with the new Seminary Ridge Museum. They did a wonderful job and we will be back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    82
    23
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Beautiful new museum.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Gettysburg's newest museum. The museum and building are amazing. Do your self a favor and take the Cupola Tour. See where General Buford observed the Confederate troops.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TSB1863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very well done exhibits”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

This new museum was a real learning experience. The exhibits are extremely well done, with many first hand accounts of the real life participants. Lots of interactive learning experiences, which were especially meaningful for our 9 year old grandson.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picture Rocks, Pa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Do it - at least once!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Being avid "Gettysburgers," we were anxious to visit this new museum. Having looked long and hard at this building MANY times before from the outside, we were happy to finally be able to ENTER. The building itself is spectacular, and the exhibits only add to the experience. Pete Miele does a FANTASTIC job on the Cupola Tour, which even I was able to do well with despite my extreme fear of heights. There are three floors; the fourth floor, where the tour starts, talks about the battle itself and the role that the seminary played in the battle. The third floor, the 'hospital' floor, was of special interest to us as health care workers. The second floor was dedicated to slavery and the role that Adams County had in its abolition. Currently there's a room on the first floor that has artifacts from the refurbishing of the building. We also did the "loop walk" around the seminary and enjoyed that as well. We're not one to spend a lot of money on trips, but this was money well spent. It's likely though, that the cost will not allow us to return all that soon. But we are VERY GLAD we visited! This is an EXCELLENT venture!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoundTopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Seminary Ridge Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

This museum is well worth the trip. No other museum in Gettysburg looks at slavery, the underground railroad plus causes one to think about todays issues.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ralph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gettysburg Seminary Ridge Museum also viewed

 

Been to Gettysburg Seminary Ridge Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing