We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The BEST of the BEST” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Swope Manor Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Swope Manor Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The BEST of the BEST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

This is an amazing property. Recently opened in May, not one detail is overlooked. The hospitality is second to none. We were going to Gettysburg for their annual Holiday House Tour. Swope Manor was on the tour and we were welcomed to arrive early to get the complimentary bands needed for the tour. Even with all the hustle and bustle of the day to come, Van the innkeeper greeted us and welcomed us very graciously. He took the time to give us a tour, tell us the history of the house and show us to our room. We stayed in the Miss Dorothy Suite which was very welcoming, clean and spacious. We got to see many of the other rooms, all were very nicely decorated, clean and inviting. Breakfast was delicious and a special dietary request was met. Parking is directly behind the building in a safe, cover parking garage. Great shopping and dining are only footsteps away from the front door. We try hard to stay in b&bs whenever we travel. This was by far the best one we have stayed at. If some street noise is a concern, request one of the many beautiful rooms not facing the street.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wlhquilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    15
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
18
118
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed in the Lt. Pohlman Chamber for Remembrance Day weekend. The breakfasts were delicious and the room was beautiful. The B&B is right in the center of town with lots of restaurants and shops within walking distance. Van is very hospitable and made sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. I would definitely stay here again, I would warn people with bad knees not to book this room because it is on the third floor with lots of steps. There are plenty of other gorgeous rooms that are either on first or second floor.

Room Tip: I would warn people with bad knees not to book this room because it is on the third floor with lots...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelterri77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

My wife and I had stayed in Gettysburg before, so I wanted to try a new place. The Swope Manor got nice reviews, so I booked it for our Anniversary weekend. As it turned out, we were the only ones staying there that weekend! I emailed Van to see if we could upgrade, and he agreed to do it at no additional cost. We were met at the door by Van, and were given a tour of the house complete with a glass of wine! Van even carried our bag to our room, which is usually my job!! The house was beautifully decorated for Christmas. Our first breakfast, prepared by Van, was scramble eggs with sausage gravy and biscuits. The next morning, our breakfast was prepared by Joann. She made breakfast potatoes and a cheese omelet. Since there was "friendly" competition between the two -- I liked Van's and my wife liked Joann's, so you each won!!

The only suggestion that we would make -- include some flavored coffee K-Cups for your Keurig! Everything else was spectacular and we would definitely recommend The Swope Manor to our friends and family!!

Room Tip: For those reviewers that complained about traffic noise, do your research and choose a room that is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matawan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
159 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

The Swope Manor is absolutely gorgeous. We have stayed in many B&B's over the years, and this one is at the top of the list for cleanliness and decor. It was absolutely spotless. Each room was nicely furnished and well appointed.
We stayed in a room in front of the building which unfortunately was a bit noisy due to street traffic. I know it was mentioned before in some reviews, but they said slight noise, I'm saying not so slight. I am a light sleeper, but there is a firehouse across the street and 2 out of 3 mornings I was woken up to the sounds odf screaming sirens. That is not a slight noise. The room was gorgeous, the bed extremely comfortable, but definitely loud at times, I would reccomend a room in the back of the building where the street sound may be a bit more muffled.
Another thing I found a little odd was that there was no place to hang your clothes. No closet or clothing rack was provided. There was a couple of hooks on the wall, but that doesnt keep your clothes from wrinkling. I just thought that was odd and have never been at a B&B before that didnt have somewhere to hand clothing.
I am still wondering where our welcome wine and tour are? Seems to me a lot of people experienced that upon check in, we got nothing.
The breaksfasts were good/average, nothing fantastic, the food was good, but no choices were given. If you didn't like eggs you were out of luck. At other places we have stayed they usually have 2 choices each morning, or they ask the night before if what they are planning is ok for you. Since I do no like eggs, it would have been nice to have another option. 2/3 mornings was an egg based dish.
The location is perfect (except for the firehouse) it is very close to walk into town and get a bite to eat and do some shopping. There is no parking on site, but a parking garage around the corner.
We met a lot of really nice people and had a good time, but I would probably stay at another B&B next time we visit Gettysburg. We just would like a bit more quiet of a place, with a bit more homey feel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sugarmag13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west chester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

We reserved the Swope and Stayed 2 nights and the Breakfasts and rooms where perfect. well worth the investment. The B&B is so perfect. The Inn Keeper Van was great the food was perfect and the wine when we arrived was nice. Plus the free coffee, tea and cookies are nice touch. Will be back.

Room Tip: 3rd floor was quiet the 2nd floor room has a spa in the shower! Nice touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phmcmichaek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College park
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I came out to Gettysburg for a weekend vacation, and had a wonderful time at the Swope Manor. We were treated with excellent care by the innkeeper Van, who took both of our dietary needs into consideration and made sure to be able to greet us personally when we checked in and to give us a tour of the location. The owners also came out for the weekend with friends, all lovely people who we enjoyed spending down time with during the weekend. I highly recommend the Swope Manor for a leisurely stay in the Gettysburg area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We have stayed at a good number of B&B's and this is by far one of the most enjoyable stays we had. The accommodations were perfect, the B&B charming and it was impeccably well furnished. There was plenty of comfortable space to gather and socialize with our fellow travelers and yet still more than adequate room for others to entertain themselves. Every room had its own bath which is important at our advancing ages and they all appeared comfortable, cozy even. We would definitely chose this place again.
The only minor downside was the parking in a paid garage, which was understandable given the space constraints of a small, clustered city. However, the parking was closely positioned.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
0.2 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#4 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
3.5 mi away
The Lightner Farmhouse
The Lightner Farmhouse
#9 of 23 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.5 mi away
Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swope Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swope Manor Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Swope Manor Bed & Breakfast
Address: 58 York St # 60, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Swope Manor Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swope Manor Bed and Breakfast is a notable historic home built in 1836 located in the heart of Gettysburg. We provide 13 luxurious private guest rooms, three common rooms, library, two dining rooms and a beautiful courtyard with outdoor seating. Our well-appointed guest rooms have comfortable beds, private baths, central air & heat, hardwood floors, flat screen cable TV with complimentary WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Swope Manor Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing