We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great long weekend @ the Swope Manor B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Swope Manor Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
“Great long weekend @ the Swope Manor B&B”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We have stayed at a good number of B&B's and this is by far one of the most enjoyable stays we had. The accommodations were perfect, the B&B charming and it was impeccably well furnished. There was plenty of comfortable space to gather and socialize with our fellow travelers and yet still more than adequate room for others to entertain themselves. Every room had its own bath which is important at our advancing ages and they all appeared comfortable, cozy even. We would definitely chose this place again.
The only minor downside was the parking in a paid garage, which was understandable given the space constraints of a small, clustered city. However, the parking was closely positioned.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    16
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
21
133
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

On the 17th of October, my wife and I enjoyed 3 lovely nights with our Bed 'n Breakfast buddies at a new , beautiful B 'n B in the town of Gettysburg, PA. We all came from the same area just outside of Pittsburgh and, even though two of our families have moved our homesteads during quite a long period, we still get together at least twice a year. The Swope Manor B 'n B was brought to our attention as a good fit for our needs and , needless to say, it was all of that and more. The rooms were exceedingly well done, with plenty of public areas for getting together or just browsing in the well equipped Library. The breakfasts were wonderful and there were great snacks, coffee and tea at all hours. We plan on a return visit soon.

Room Tip: We had an opportunity to see many of the 13 rooms [ all with private bathrooms] and each is charming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We have been lucky enough to have stayed in many B&Bs here and abroad. The Swope Manor in Gettysburg, Pa.is one of the best ever! Each room was beautifully decorated, with touches of old and new; each room with a private bath. Breakfast was delicious and warmly served by a wonderful staff led by Van, the marvelous innkeeper. Additionally since we often travel with others there were many comfortable rooms where we could comfortably convene. Thank you so much to Swope for a wonderful weekend experience!

Room Tip: Since all the rooms are comfortably elegant, any room could work. Then it is a matter of personal ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJMichalski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Our long weekend in Gettysburg to celebrate our anniversary was extra special thanks to our stay at the Swope. Van was an excellent host and made us feel welcomed from the moment we arrived. The rooms are absolutely beautiful and the breakfasts served were delicious. We will definitely come back and stay at the Swope!! The bonus was its location near the town square which made so many sites, shops & restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: If you are easily disturbed by street traffic, I would recommend a room in the back of the B&B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emigsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I would like to Thank Van Richards and his staff at the Swope Manor Inn for making our recent wedding at the Inn a perfect event. We had been guest on several occasions and were thrilled that Van was able to arrange for our wedding to take place at the Inn. To say that we love the home of George Swope would be a huge understatement. Van helped us with the planning and we were fortunate to book the entire home for our family and friends to spend the weekend with us in a place that we love. The wedding took place in the beautiful courtyard behind the house and carriage house and our reception dinner on the rear deck which where we had a tent. The facility is perfect for a small wedding. We had about 50 guest and 29 were able to stay at the Inn with us. It was quite a great feeling to know that your entire family was living in the same house for the weekend. There are so many things to do in Gettysburg and The Swope Manor was a perfect location to start each day. We had a battlefield tour guide for a three hour tour for the guys and most of the ladies went shopping and did a "old time" photo. There was an antique show in town that weekend and everyone enjoyed that also. Our guest loved the house and everyone thought their room was the best. Every room is beautiful. I could go on and on about how wonderful the weekend was but the important thing to know is that the Swope Manor Inn is BEAUTIFUL in every way. Our family is already requesting that we go back next year and do another weekend. Special thanks also to Joanne who made the best ever biscotti that everyone is still talking about, and Nelson who helped me and our guest in every way possible.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wsf423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We loved our stay at Swope Manor. The room was just beautiful. Van was so accommodating and wonderful. We would definitely like to come back. The breakfast was excellent and one of our party had a food allergy and it was not a problem - they were delighted as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horseheads, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Swope Manor on 10/12-10/14. It is a beautiful home and is located close to the square. The room (we stayed in the Chamberlain Suite) was well appointed and met our needs nicely. In fact, all the rooms that we were able to see from the hallway were great! The common areas of the home were nicely furnished and we felt right at home enjoying the rooms. The breakfasts were wonderful and Van was very helpful and always pleasant to talk to. We will definitely book the Swope Manor again on any return trips to Gettysburg.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Momof31991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
999 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#9 of 27 in Gettysburg
371 reviews
2.1 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#5 of 27 in Gettysburg
363 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swope Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swope Manor Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Swope Manor Bed & Breakfast
Address: 58 York St # 60, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Swope Manor Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swope Manor Bed and Breakfast is a notable historic home built in 1836 located in the heart of Gettysburg. We provide 13 luxurious private guest rooms, three common rooms, library, two dining rooms and a beautiful courtyard with outdoor seating. Our well-appointed guest rooms have comfortable beds, private baths, central air & heat, hardwood floors, flat screen cable TV with complimentary WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your The Swope Manor Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing