We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!”

Hunt's Battlefield Fries & Cafe'
Ranked #3 of 128 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: THE BUILDING THAT HUNT'S BATTLEFIELD FRIES AND CAFE' IS IN, IS AN OLD HOUSE THAT FAMILYS ONCE LIVED IN. THE HOUSE AT 61 STEINWEHR AVE WAS NOT HERE YET DURING THE CIVIL WAR BATTLE OF GETTYSBURG, BUT WAS BUILD ABOUT 1900, YES IT IS SMALL INSIDE, BUT WE MAKE GREAT USE OF THE SPACE.
PA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We were just there yesterday. I had a cheese steak, hubby and kiddo had versions of the chicken cheese steaks. Although the chicken cheese steaks are made with real chicken instead of those thin steakums things, I thought the regular cheese steaks were better. It was definitely good just hate how things are over priced in the tourist areas. Love hand cut fries.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Szoves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    562
    212
    53
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best burger and fries ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

This place totally lived up to the reviews I read on Tripadvisor. Quaint and small inside, with some tables outside as well. Staff was really nice and helpful. Hubby and I both had the bacon cheeseburger and we shared a medium fries with cheese sauce on the side. The burgers were DELICIOUS and the fries were the BEST I've ever had. The medium fries portion was actually too big for just the 2 of us. We left stuffed and totally satisfied. Highly recommended!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Elkiedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, Nevada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Nice burger”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We went here based on reviews. I had the mushroom swiss burger and fries. The burger was excellent and the fries were better than Mickey D's. The cook was friendly and the service was good. Interesting interior with photos, signs and hats. The orangeade was the best.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank colonialmist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Maryland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Passed by this place many times.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Seemed like a hole in the wall tourist place but got good reviews on trip adviser so we gave it a try. So glad we did. It is small, only about 6-7 tables inside and 2 outside. I got the cheese steak and wife got the cheeseburger. Both where juice and tender. We shared a medium fry which could have fed 4 people. We also got the home made orangeade. I was skeptical about the homemade part until I saw her making it. It was wonderful. The interior is decorated with lots of military caps, mainly from U.S. ships. We will definitely go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill_from_Baltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

I have been dying for a decent Philly cheesesteak since i haven't been to Philly in awhile...and this was delicious!! The cheesesteak with onions was amazing and the fries...wow, don't skip and get them!! And with the malt vinegar in a spray bottle at your table...my mouth is watering as I type! And the owners are super nice and friendly :-)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank colleenm84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunt's Battlefield Fries & Cafe' also viewed

 

Been to Hunt's Battlefield Fries & Cafe'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing