We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yum Yum”

Hunt's Battlefield Fries & Cafe'
Ranked #3 of 128 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: THE BUILDING THAT HUNT'S BATTLEFIELD FRIES AND CAFE' IS IN, IS AN OLD HOUSE THAT FAMILYS ONCE LIVED IN. THE HOUSE AT 61 STEINWEHR AVE WAS NOT HERE YET DURING THE CIVIL WAR BATTLE OF GETTYSBURG, BUT WAS BUILD ABOUT 1900, YES IT IS SMALL INSIDE, BUT WE MAKE GREAT USE OF THE SPACE.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yum Yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had heard the cheesesteaks here were a must eat, so we stopped in for lunch while in town. We had a short wait while our food cooked, but it was well worth it when the plates arrived. Ohh so yummy. Large portions especially on the fries. Prices were average and we left knowing we would be back again on our next trip.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    562
    211
    53
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Homer City, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Prices!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

The food was excellent. We ordered two 12" cheesesteak sandwiches, an onion ring and a medium fry. Everything was excellent. My mom and I split the one cheesesteak and that with the other food was enough for two people to be stuffed. The prices were just right. Would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CarlieF58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Delicioso!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stopped by this place after visiting the Gettysburg Battlefield, after reading great reviews on this site as well as another review site. Ordered a cheesesteak sandwich with grilled onions and shared an order or their Battle Fries. The food was excellent, and I'd stop there again if ever visiting Gettysburg. The only two things that kept me from giving it 5 stars, was the fact that the tables weren't as clean as they could have been, and also the spray bottles on the table filled with vinegar, for the food, looked as if they needed to be cleaned. Other than that, the food was great and the prices were reasonable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LuverOfTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
262 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Fair/Carnival french fries”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Had read some reviews that the fries were awesome so we got a medium order to munch on as we walked around. First thing is that the place is cluttered. You would not think of it as a place to dine in. Lots of hats hanging everywhere and autographed pictures of celebrities on the walls. Its more like a store than a place to eat. Sit outside if you plan on eating there. Fries were cooked to order and hot. A bit pricey for a fried potato and they were a bit greasy. Some of the fries had clumped together so some were a bit overcooked and the clumped ones were a bit undercooked. You can get the same fries at a local carnival/fair.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hopsing-NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilion, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Bang for your buck”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Liked the buffalo steak sandwich and the chicken buffalo sandwich Both were great. The frys were a bit greasy but tasty. We ate outside where it was airy and that was just fine. Inside it was crowded but the waitress was very accomadating and suggested the seating outside. Would eat here again.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank engelsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunt's Battlefield Fries & Cafe' also viewed

 

Been to Hunt's Battlefield Fries & Cafe'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing