We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional diner food & atmosphere w/ great desserts”
Review of Lincoln Diner

Lincoln Diner
Ranked #16 of 129 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Owings Mills, Maryland
Level Contributor
173 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Traditional diner food & atmosphere w/ great desserts”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This diner is open 24 hours a day, but we were the only ones in the dining room on a Sunday night for a semi-late dinner. As a result, we had our waiter's complete attention. He was very friendly and helpful, going above and beyond (ie. bringing a water picture for us, taking the plan side salad and turning it into a yummy greek salad-- I totally recommend the greek dressing). The food was good, no complaints. I'd say it's average diner food; food & quality that you'd expect from a diner. Before visiting, we received a recommendation to get dessert there. They say that all of their dessert are made on the premise and made fresh daily. My cherry cheesecake was very yummy and less than $4 for a large slice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goldenparadox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    259
    143
    49
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minot, ND
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just ok food in a not so clean diner.”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Our family stopped here after touring Gettysburg National Park. The food was average at best, although I suspect their deserts would have been delicious by the looks of the pies. The biggest problem was the cleanliness of the diner, seemed a bit dirty almost everywhere from the booth seats to the windows to the floors.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hunterwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
178 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast !”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This old fashioned diner is not the cleanest place I've ever eaten in. However, the breakfast they serve (all day) - particularly the French toast is unbelievable. It made of bread they make themselves.

We ate here for lunch and came back the next day for lunch! Others with me has grilled cheese and cheeseburger (they said they were ok).

Limited seating and can get busy so be prepared. Not gonna be great for kids in strollers as the seating is tight. Again - Try the French toast!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joakley815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“SO MUCH FOOD!”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We came to eat here around 4 after our auto tour and I ordered the pot roast and it was so much food that I had to take a lot of it home. My husband ordered the spaghetti and it was good IMO. Will def eat here again and they are open 24/7. Next time I will order my dessert.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Two words: French Toast!”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I always eat a few meals here when I'm in Gettysburg. I enjoy the atmosphere of an old school diner. The french toast is awesome! They use homemade bread to make it. Which, by the way, they won't sell you. I had to ask, lol. I've also had the crab cakes which are excellent. The homemade pies are wonderful too. Prices are very reasonable and portions are large. They're open 24 hours so whenever you feel like a bite, stop in.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lincoln Diner also viewed

 

Been to Lincoln Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing