We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“down from previous visit”

Hoss's Steak & Sea House
Ranked #52 of 128 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Price range: $6 - $29
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hoss’s Steak and Sea House is a family restaurant featuring fresh-cut steaks, seafood, and tender chicken entrees…all cooked to order!Enjoy our fresh and wholesome Soup & Salad Bar with homemade soups, just-baked breads, fresh fruits, delicious desserts, and soft-serve ice cream. We feature a fun menu for kids and offer family-style banquets in our comfortable banquet rooms
staten island
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“down from previous visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

salmon was undercooked. excellent soup, salad bar and service. should find a way to protect bread at cutting station so its not handled by patrons..perhaps wrap it in linen napkin

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank shrinkstatenisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missy H, Social Media Director at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We are sorry to hear that your last dining experience was not perfect and hope the manager was able to take care of the salmon situation for you. Tongs are located by the bread so the guest should not have the need to touch the bread with their hands. In the past we did wrap the bread in a linen napkin but found this created a mess and did not make the situation sanitary.
We appreciate your feedback and patronage and hope that we have to opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    71
    62
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gilford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Something for everyone!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Wonderful options for a family with different tastes! Staff very friendly. Ate there twice in a 5 day visit to Gettysburg!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tammy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missy H, Social Media Director at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your patronage during your stay in Gettysburg. We strive to offer a great selection of menu items at a reasonable price. From our Soup & Salad bar to our Stuffed Chicken Breast to our Ribeye steak, we have something to please everyone. Your feedback is appreciated and we hope you choose Hoss's again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorain, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

The food was good with a decent selection. Service was ok also. If there was a negative, it would be with the salad- desert bar. It was tucked away in a small room away from most tables. Sometimes difficult to get your selection

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank walk20miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missy H, Social Media at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Hoss's in Gettysburg. We appreciate your input and your comments will be passed along to the general manager in Gettysburg. We hope that in the near future you will again dine at one of our 35 Hoss's locations and enjoy our wide variety of entrees, soups, salad and desserts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Decent Steakhouse Fare with Gluten-Free Options”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Never having been to a Hoss's before, we weren't prepared for their unusual ordering process (order from a wall menu like fast food, then be taken to your seats by the hostess) but it was easy enough to grasp. The dining areas is quite spacious with a nice rustic ambiance accentuated with some some historic photos of the local area. A nice touch. The wait staff during our visit was friendly and attentive. I ordered the fried shrimp which, as a point of reference, was on par to what you'd find at other steakhouse chains such as Ponderosa. Using the restaurant's gluten-free dining guide, my wife ordered a steak and made use of the salad bar. She was very pleased with the taste and quality of her meal. We'll definitely be back the next time that we're in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KY_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missy H, social media at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing Hoss's as your dining destination. We were excited to hear that you enjoyed our wide variety of salad bar and gluten free offerings. We look forward to serving you again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
126 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Budget Family Style Dining”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I visited on 4th of July weeknd during the 150th Anniversay. I was expecting a steak restaurant and was disappointed to find a budget type order at the register/salad bar type place. The food was just ok. The cheesecake on the dessert buffet was Jello No Bake. For almost $50 we could have gone somewhere much nicer and had much better food. I won't be going back. Also for 4th of July weekend there were very few people there although there were over 100,000 people in town for the 150th festivities.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SUZANNAH S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missy H, Social Media Director at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Gettysburg location. We are sorry that you were not happy with your last dining experience. Your feedback will be forwarded to the general manager. Your feedback is appreciated and we hope you choose Hoss's again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoss's Steak & Sea House also viewed

Gettysburg, PA
 
Gettysburg, PA
 

Been to Hoss's Steak & Sea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing