We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”

Hoss's Steak & Sea House
Ranked #50 of 132 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Price range: $6 - $29
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Hoss’s Steak and Sea House is a family restaurant featuring fresh-cut steaks, seafood, and tender chicken entrees…all cooked to order!Enjoy our fresh and wholesome Soup & Salad Bar with homemade soups, just-baked breads, fresh fruits, delicious desserts, and soft-serve ice cream. We feature a fun menu for kids and offer family-style banquets in our comfortable banquet rooms
Allegany, New York
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The staff was very friendly and attentive, the food was good, big selection and the restaurant was clean. Prices were very reasonable.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank armydadof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missy H, Social Media at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for letting Hoss's know that your dining experience was pleasant at our location in Gettysburg. We strive to make every diner's visit an pleasurable one. We hope that you will dine with us again in the near future and enjoy our Hosspitality!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    78
    63
    18
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miller Place, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good salad bar”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Fresh salad bar with a good variety of items. Good soups. Dessert buffet was somewhat minimal. Burgers are advertised as being made fresh on premises and indeed the burgers i and my son had were tasty, if a bit over cooked. All the other diners ordered stuffed chicken or steak. They all felt they were pre-prepared and brought in to be warmed and served. They were dry and lacked flavor. Considering what else was available in the area, this is probably better than most.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missy H, Public relations at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We are happy to hear from you that you enjoyed the salad bar and burgers. Our chicken and steaks are prepared to order and we apologize that this product was dry and lacking in flavor. We will share with our cooks in efforts to make improvements for future visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Decent food”
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Strange set up, when you first walk in you order from the wall menu. Then you are seated and given a chance to go to the salad bar, very good selections. Food is brought out quickly and staff was very pleasant. Overall good experience, I was just a bit confused at the ordering process.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FL_Tourist-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missy H, Public Relations at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience, it can be different for a first time guest ordering when you first arrive, hopefully you found this efficient and so happy you enjoyed your dining experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Needs some better cleanup”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Walked in and many tables were not cleaned up, they're short on help. Entrees OK and salad bar nice.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank zahav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missy H, public relations manager at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thanks for taking time to let us know you visited our location in Gettysburg. I'm sorry it appeared they were understaffed and we have notified management. Again, thanks for the review and hoping you enjoyed your meal otherwise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Lots of food, fresh and quality ingredients”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stopped going here a few years ago after two less than good experiences. We decided to try it again two weeks ago and were pleasantly surprised. It's a typical steak house, but they offer a huge salad, soup and dessert bar along with the entrée. We find that it works well to order the steak and after a large salad and soup (the ham and bean is good, the chicken noodle is ok, but the other soups need more flavor), we take more than half of our steak home and have it the next night.
The dessert bar tended to run low both times, but it was eventually refilled and the brownies are good with the soft serve ice cream, topped by the warm peanut butter sauce!
Servers are pleasant, food is good, reasonably priced. We'll be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lola1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missy H, Social Media Director at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Gettysburg location. We strive to provide great food and service at a reasonable price for all our guests. We are very sorry that you had less than enjoyable experiences in the past but are very happy that you decided to try us again. We appreciate your feedback and hope to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoss's Steak & Sea House also viewed

 

Been to Hoss's Steak & Sea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing