We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some better cleanup”

Hoss's Steak & Sea House
Ranked #49 of 129 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Price range: $6 - $29
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Hoss’s Steak and Sea House is a family restaurant featuring fresh-cut steaks, seafood, and tender chicken entrees…all cooked to order!Enjoy our fresh and wholesome Soup & Salad Bar with homemade soups, just-baked breads, fresh fruits, delicious desserts, and soft-serve ice cream. We feature a fun menu for kids and offer family-style banquets in our comfortable banquet rooms
Virginia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Needs some better cleanup”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Walked in and many tables were not cleaned up, they're short on help. Entrees OK and salad bar nice.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank zahav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missy H, public relations manager at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thanks for taking time to let us know you visited our location in Gettysburg. I'm sorry it appeared they were understaffed and we have notified management. Again, thanks for the review and hoping you enjoyed your meal otherwise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    75
    62
    18
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
212 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Lots of food, fresh and quality ingredients”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stopped going here a few years ago after two less than good experiences. We decided to try it again two weeks ago and were pleasantly surprised. It's a typical steak house, but they offer a huge salad, soup and dessert bar along with the entrée. We find that it works well to order the steak and after a large salad and soup (the ham and bean is good, the chicken noodle is ok, but the other soups need more flavor), we take more than half of our steak home and have it the next night.
The dessert bar tended to run low both times, but it was eventually refilled and the brownies are good with the soft serve ice cream, topped by the warm peanut butter sauce!
Servers are pleasant, food is good, reasonably priced. We'll be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lola1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missy H, Social Media Director at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Gettysburg location. We strive to provide great food and service at a reasonable price for all our guests. We are very sorry that you had less than enjoyable experiences in the past but are very happy that you decided to try us again. We appreciate your feedback and hope to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fills a need: Perfectly!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Driving back to DC from Hershey Park we couldn't decide on where to eat. Hoss's turned out to be the perfect choice. 10 dollars for better than average steak tips and all you can eat salad and desert bar. The service was superb and refills were brought quickly. The only complaint is there were too many cake choices and I had to try them all!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spur2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missy H, Social Media Director at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Gettysburg location. We strive to provide great food and service at a reasonable price to all of our guests. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we hope you choose Hoss's again in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
207 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“I was not that impressed.”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was my first visit to a Hoss's and I dont have the desire to go back. We had to stand in line to place our order and pay before being seated...I am not a fan of that at all. The price seemed a little high to me especially after adding the salad bar to it. Our waitress was nice and attentive. The food was good as was the selection on the salad bar. Overall, there are much better places to eat when in Gettysburg...this place just did not impress me.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AdventureMythsJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missy H, Social Media Director at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Gettysburg location. We are sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations. Ordering before you are seated is one of our signature features. We do this to enable our guests who only order the salad bar to help themselves immediately after being seated instead of having to wait on a server to take their order. As for paying when you order, this is not our general procedures. Typically payment is taken at the table at the end of your meal.
We continually strive to improve and seek ways to provide better service to our guests. We appreciate your feedback and hope you consider dining at Hoss's again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catonsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not worth the price.”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We went here based on the reviews on this site. Maybe we just went on a bad night but not willing to give it another shot. The soup and salad bar had a pretty good selection, however I would have liked the soups to have been hotter or a way to warm them up. They had a build your own French onion soup which was pretty good, but no way to melt the cheese so by the time you let it sit to melt it's cold.

My husband ordered a steak, which he said was average. I ordered the coconut shrimp, which where burnt and rubbery. My sweet potato was also burned.

The staff was friendly and welcoming, which was a plus, but overall, wasn't worth the $46.00 we paid for two people.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mmooiweer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missy H, Social Media at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Gettysburg location. We are sorry that your dining experience was not outstanding. We appreciate your feedback and will pass it on to the appropriate departments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoss's Steak & Sea House also viewed

 
Gettysburg, PA
 

Been to Hoss's Steak & Sea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing