We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff and a great chef”

Inn at Herr Ridge Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Inn at Herr Ridge Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 132 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $36
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Herr's Ridge Rd.
Description: Fine dining in a cozy, business casual atmosphere. ~ Wine Spectator Award of Excellence ~ Susquehanna Style Magazine Silver Spoon Award Winner Business Meetings, Bus Groups, Rehearsal Dinners and other Private Events from 10-150.
Swanton, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice staff and a great chef”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I had the lump crab cakes...real American crab...not from foreign country, and they were delicious. The portions are generous, the salad was fresh. The decor could use updating and the place could use a little more wait staff. Overall, a nice dining experience.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Director of Sales at Inn at Herr Ridge Restaurant, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for the compliments on our food. We are sorry you were expecting dinner to go faster than it happened, but we our dining is fine dining and will take longer than usual time. We want you to sit back and relax and enjoy the experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    61
    37
    19
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent upscale”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Very nice dinner at the B&B we stayed at for the weekend. With the weather we did not want to go out, and it really was superb!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank sleepercell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Director of Sales at Inn at Herr Ridge Restaurant, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
We are glad you had a great experience even with the weather being bad. That is what we are all about as a boutique hotel, you can stay here with us and have several different dining experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great River, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent local food”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Food was great. Nice variety. All but seafood is local. Service was good. Atmosphere was great. Tables were large, ambiance was nice, very soft pleasant background music. Only negative was it was expensive, about $ 65. per person.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LenoreL629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Director of Sales at Inn at Herr Ridge Restaurant, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for the compliments and we want our customers to keep in mind the cost goes with the quality of food, since we are fresh from the farm to the table. We do hope you will dine with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Really Great”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Loved our evening at Herr Ridge. Wonderful food with delicious combinations of flavors. Very nice atmosphere. Don't be in a hurry when you go here - instead sit back, relax, and enjoy a wonderful evening with delicious food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fir96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Director of Sales at Inn at Herr Ridge Restaurant, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful compliments and we are glad you pass on the suggestion of don't be in a hurry, for that is what we are all about. We want you to experience the whole experience on fine dining. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Took my small staff here to celebrate their birthdays (they all have March birthdays). It was a wonderful evening! Food was delicious! The lamb just fell off the bone (just as our server said it would), I had the scallops and they were wonderful! Excellent choices. Wonderful mixture of tastes. Extensive wine list. Very happy with our visit. Service is slow (by American standards) - so don't plan to go and get out quickly - but to go and spend some time with those at your table enjoying a delicious meal in a very nice atmosphere. It's a bit more expensive, but well worth a pleasant evening.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fir96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Director of Sales at Inn at Herr Ridge Restaurant, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
We are so glad you decided to select the Inn to celebrate all your birthdays. But most of all we are happy that we made it a memorable one and hope to see you back with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Inn at Herr Ridge Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Inn at Herr Ridge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing