We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An honest opinion”

Inn at Herr Ridge Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Inn at Herr Ridge Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 132 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $36
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Herr's Ridge Rd.
Description: Fine dining in a cozy, business casual atmosphere. ~ Wine Spectator Award of Excellence ~ Susquehanna Style Magazine Silver Spoon Award Winner Business Meetings, Bus Groups, Rehearsal Dinners and other Private Events from 10-150.
Aspers, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An honest opinion”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I am a regular at this establishment, You will find a laid back feeling where you can come and enjoy a great meal at a fair price and in a relaxed atmosphere. Recently a disgruntled ex-employee gave some very bad reviews but they simply are not true.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 11trapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge Restaurant, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thanks for letting others know you always enjoy dining at The Inn. We try very hard to make each guests' experience a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    61
    37
    19
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
iowa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything was spot on!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We went as a family and the restaurant easily accommodated all of us. Fantastic fine dining menu and kid's menu. Allowed our children to pick the best of both. Unbelievable raw oysters with a caviar cucumber citrus garnish. At the same time our kids enjoyed great spaghetti and meatballs. Ultimate Crab and corn chowder. Beet and chorizo risotto with fish in a caper herb vinaigrette- really worked. Vinaigrette cut the richness of the risotto and let the fish be the star. Finished with a bourbon caramel cherry crisp that I expect would normally be great but we rushed the kitchen a bit and a lot of alcohol remained. Not their fault, but ours. Great service! Only complaint was that wine markup was a bit higher than typical; however, there were a lot of inexpensive alternatives and the bottle we chose is hard to find outside of California.

It has been a long time since we have been to a fine dining restaurant where they got everything right and the Inn at Herr Ridge nailed it. Best in Gettysburg! Congratulations guys!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank htntique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge Restaurant, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your dinner. From your very descriptive review, I can tell you really appreciate fine dining. Thank you also, for complimenting the entire staff, they work very hard to ensure every guest has a memorable experience. Please come and be our guests again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleton On Hudson, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Will definitely return!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We dined at Herr Ridge at the end of our stay in Gettysburg for the 150th Reenactment. It was the perfect ending to a great trip!
Quiet atmosphere, great service and GREAT food! Thoroughly enjoyed everything about our meal. A little pricey, but well worth it!
We were given a tour of a few rooms at the Inn following dinner and will definitely consider a stay there on a return trip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kima415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge Restaurant, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We are so glad you were able to have dinner here at The Inn during your visit to Gettysburg. Thank you for your kind words, it sounds like you enjoyed your fine dining experience. We would love to have you as Bed and Breakfast guests, if you ever get to Gettysburg again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Gettysburg Treat”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful dinner here our last night in Gettysburg. After lots of basic pub and tourist fare in town, our meal was gorgeously presented and delicious in a serene and gentle atmosphere. The hostess and servers were gracious and caring. The chef takes pride in local ingredients, featured in almost every yummy dish. We started with fresh oysters presented on little clouds of foam, garnished with caviar...just perfect. We also ordered the baked Brie and strawberries which was really more than enough for two people, but just as delicious. Our entrees were lamb chops and breast of chicken accompanied by two glasses of wine. We had no room for dessert but were pleasantly surprised when two small and perfectly crafted chocolates showed up with or coffee. They were so good we felt like we'd just had an entire chocolate mousse. I highly recommend Herr's Ridge for a quiet adult dinner. Not sure I'd bring young children here, but older ones with an appreciation for good food would be fine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moimoi184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge Restaurant, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review concerning your dining experience at The Inn. We are so glad you chose our restaurant while you were in Gettysburg. You are exactly correct in noticing our chef uses local, in-season ingredients. Thank you, also, for complimenting our staff. They strive every day to make each guests' dining experience a memorable one. (I love the chocolate raspberry truffles too)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney md
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Could not have been better.”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our sister had been meaning to try the Inn for about a year. Spur of the moment we went - even though I was underdressed. Everything was first class from the greeting, the chef's surprise of a beautiful mussel, all the way thought to desert. When we met the chef we were surprised that he is fairly young. He has way more experience and what a treat for Get.tysburg. We will be back and we will stay at the inn.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge Restaurant, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We are so glad your sister and you finally had the experience of dining here at The Inn. Thank you for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your visit. I'll be sure and pass on your kind words regarding our chef. We hope you will come again and be our guests in our bed and breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Inn at Herr Ridge Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Inn at Herr Ridge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing