We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Atmosphere But...”

Inn at Herr Ridge Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Inn at Herr Ridge Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 129 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Price range: $24 - $36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Herr's Ridge Rd.
Description: Fine dining in a cozy, business casual atmosphere. ~ Wine Spectator Award of Excellence ~ Susquehanna Style Magazine Silver Spoon Award Winner Business Meetings, Bus Groups, Rehearsal Dinners and other Private Events from 10-150.
Hershey, PA
Level Contributor
136 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful Atmosphere But...”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We arrived for lunch around 1 PM on a Friday and were the only ones in the room (a few were at the solarium). Service at first was fine but deteriorated. Young lady at entrance looked bored and was not helpful. Rest room had no soap and no towels and I reported it only to return 10 minutes later in same condition. Food was good but not excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeniorTraveller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    60
    37
    19
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Pass!”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Let's start with the unclear menu. My husband ordered the pecan chicken salad which states grilled chicken, but chicken salad with mayo with a tiny bed of salad is what was served. I ordered the lobster salad sandwich. The lobster salad was delicious, but the bread was unedible. It was grilled perhaps trying to cover up the staleness. The staff was kind enough to take my compliant seriously and took $3 off the bill. I wouldn't return.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedminster, New Jersey
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Don't go if you are hungry!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We ate at the Herr Ridge restaurant over Memorial Day weekend. The food was very good, the portions were very small, and the bill was pretty big. I had the prime rib, which was actually two small pieces wrapped in bacon -- not a slice of prime rib. My husband had the duck, which was three small pieces. Again, the food was great... We just wish there had been more of it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JLF923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Special Place”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

My daughter and I had dinner here at the end of April. We were surprised at how packed Gettysburg was and we tried to make a reservation at one of the restaurants in town that we usually dine at and were told no reservations until 8:30, which is a little late for us. We had seen the Inn at Herr Ridge on a recent airing of " Haunted Collector" and thought we would love to check out the place. ,We were so glad they had room for us because it was one of the best meals we have ever had and the service was excellent. I had the Sea scallops and shrimp and my daughter had the Prime Rib and both were absolutely delicious. We had apple pie with homemade ice cream and the most wonderful Chocolate concoction with an oreo crust for dessert yummmmmm... Prices were a little high but it was absolutely worth it!! We will definitely return when we visit Gettysburg next time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank monkster27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge Restaurant, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review concerning your dining experience. We are glad you enjoyed your seafood and beef dishes. Glad also, you decided to have dessert...you're right, they are yummy! Please come and dine with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best meal of the week”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This gorgeous Inn is about 1.5 miles west of the Square, on Route 30. The furnishings and décor are lovely, and the staff (from hostess to chef) are extremely friendly. Our server was knowledgeable and helpful, and the food was delicious (menu is a bit limited, but has enough choices to feed anybody). Wine list is extensive, and has a range of price-points; I liked that they offer half-bottles of some wines, so a person can have better than by-the-glass wine.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank AM1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge Restaurant, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you very much for rating us "best meal of the week". High praise indeed! And thank you also for acknowledging our entire staff. Our employees try to make each guests' dining experience a memorable one. Glad you liked the wine too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Inn at Herr Ridge Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Inn at Herr Ridge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing