We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average main course and salad, great desserts and excellent service. ”

General Pickett's Buffets
Ranked #29 of 132 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Price range: $11 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Bloomsbury, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Average main course and salad, great desserts and excellent service. ”
Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

The salad bar and main buffet were average. The food we ate was good although there were some items that needed to be refreshed and simply stirred as they were looking a little dry. The desserts were great and a large enough selection to make it difficult to choose. This place was a solid "3" except that the excellent service from staff kicked it up to a "4".

Helpful?
Thank BloomsburyTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    191
    139
    63
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good wholesome food.”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Not a huge selection of food, but what was there was very good. The desserts seemed to be home baked, and had a great selection. The one's I sampled were very good. The service was great. Although a little dated, the interior seemed to go with the whole atmosphere. Would recommend this restaurant for sure, but bring a big appetite.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Busysharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed this buffet”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

very helpful staff, - used plates were quickly whisked away. reasonable price, good selection of food and desserts (cakes, pies, brownies etc; whipped cream but not ice cream was offered when we visited)

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank SL D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cream Ridge, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yuck!”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Just plain old, flat out not good. At $12.95 a person, we figured we would give it a try. We all had a hard time getting our fill with the poor selection and even worse quality food. What a shame, because it could be a really cute place.

Helpful?
Thank Itsafarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

This restaurant was pretty good, great veggie selection and home cookin'! The salad bar was great and I think the dessert bar was better than the main course bars. Service was excellent too, very friendly people throughout the whole place.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johynnyrovno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed General Pickett's Buffets also viewed

 

Been to General Pickett's Buffets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing