We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food good variety.”

General Pickett's Buffets
Ranked #32 of 130 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Price range: $11 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Reservations
White Haven, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Food good variety.”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Stopped in for A quick supper one night on our most recent trip. I was surprised that at 5 PM there were not A lot of people in here. We were quickly seated and enjoyed good food and great service. And as A quick note the lemon meringue pie was awesome. We will be back on our next visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    184
    138
    63
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Muncie, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lots of Food and Choices”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

After a long day visiting the battlefield and cemetery at Gettysburg, refueling for the evening is a must. General Pickett's is just the key.

The month of May is a big month for school trips and there were numerous busses in the parking lot. But this place is set up to handle volume.

Since there just two of us, we requested and received a table away from the kids (who were well behaved).

We found a salad bar that was well stocked with plenty of selections and everything looked very fresh--not like it had been soaking in water in a cooler all day and then put out at the last minute.

At the hot side of the buffet, there was a carving station with very tender roast beef and ham. Next to the carver was a steam table pan filled with carved roast turkey--some pieces still with golden skin attached--that was swimming in delicious turkey gravy. If you've ever had turkey at a buffet, you know it can and probably is dry and tough. Dunking this stuff in gravy kept the meat moist and allowed the goodness of the broth to penetrate the meat.

All the usual vegetables on the steam table and a few surprises (probably depending on what the produce vendor had that day).

Even with the crowds of young people, the staff was effective and attentive to us. After the tour group left, it was great to see the whole floor staff jump in to bus, clean and reset the tables. I would venture to say they cleaned and reset for the four busses we say depart in under 15 minutes. Very efficient and the management should be proud of the way those folks work together to get ready for more customers.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A very good value...”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

...particularly if you've got kids with you. The food here is better than taking them to McDonalds! There's usually an excellent selection - the salad bar is well-stocked, the hot bar always has a good selection, and I refuse to discuss the desserts. (Mostly because it'd make me want some!) Not fancy dining by any means, but good hearty food. (My nieces and nephews were disappointed whenever we couldn't get in there because of the crowding and bus tours!)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank SherrieAnne1863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best secret in Gettysburg!”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I called in an emergency and asked on a whim if they could fit in 45 people. Not only did they have us in under an hour, but they had pitchers of drinks already on the table. The food was hot, service was great and the price was unbeatable! Thanks so much to the ladies working hard on getting us in!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bridget3313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princess Anne, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

First time in the area with a group. Seven of us chose to eat here. Price was very reasonable but you get what you pay for. Food was not good at all, restaurant is very loud and crowded. Wait staff does their best to make up for what the food lacks. If it hadn't been for the waitress this place would have gotten a "terrible" for the food.

Helpful?
Thank Kellam21853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to General Pickett's Buffets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing