We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful evening”

Dobbin House Tavern
Ranked #5 of 130 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Louisville, KY
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“wonderful evening”
Reviewed September 1, 2014

We got into Gettysburg late and walked across from the Travelodge(also very nice) and was one of 3 couples in the room served before they closed. Service waas excellent, food tasty and atmosphere was so friendly.Server said she had worked there 20+ years and was very onformative on both history of Dobbins House and the food.
No rushing you out because was late.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kookaburrafhusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,927 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,194
    1,094
    445
    124
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

Food is outstanding, crab cakes were wonderful and the salmon delicious.
Fairly priced for great food.
Service quite competent.
Bier choices good .

Helpful?
Thank Jefimenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly service, terrible food.”
Reviewed September 1, 2014

My family of 4 went to the downstairs Springhouse Tavern on August 29th. The building is beautiful and the ambience in the tavern was outstanding. We are both history buffs and enjoyed it immensely. Our waitress was a very friendly young lady who was helpful with our orders. The food however...

My wife ordered crab cakes that she said were average at best. My NY strip steak priced over $20 was burnt on one side and end, and was gray inside. I asked for medium. Both of our baked potatoes were barely room temperature and hard.

We ordered pasta with sauce for my 3 year old son. They brought out a $9 (!) plate of childrens pasta. It was literally linguini noodles and sauce.

The service and ambience are outstanding, but the kitchen needs to be re-evaluated. Beware.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alish09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed September 1, 2014

We ate downstairs in the Tavern, had the half chicken and salad, highly recommended. Nice atmosphere, fair prices.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katiebella41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Historic location - good restaurant!”
Reviewed September 1, 2014

The Dobbin House was in a very historic building. Food and atmosphere were both good! We looked around after we ate there.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mikpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dobbin House Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Dobbin House Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing