We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere, Great Food!”

Dobbin House Tavern
Ranked #5 of 129 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great Atmosphere, Great Food!”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This was my first time in Gettysburg and was recommended to eat at the Dobbin House by our bed and breakfast. From the Revolutionary War attire and décor of this historic house, to the fantastic quality of food, Dobbin did not disappoint! The French onion soup was the best I have ever had and their prime rib was outstanding! This place is not to be missed and is a must of you visit Gettysburg!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,872 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,160
    1,084
    436
    123
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Come for the food and stay for the punch!”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful pub! We visited the town of Gettysburg for history and found this must visit Tavern. Not only does it have the ambiance of the history we expect from such hallowed ground, but the food and house special drinks are divine. Though a word to the wise- 2 rum punches are more than enough to bring a smile to your face, if not a stagger to your step ;) We stayed in town for 4 days and visited this tavern twice for dinner and once on a Ghost Walk. Kudos to the welcoming staff who were fun to talk to and have great advice for your visit. A gift shop at the street level is a great place to pick up some pretty mementos of your time.

Helpful?
Thank Karin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parisppany Nj
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dark Room”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This Tavern was suggested by the owner of the Fudge Place and he was right on target. The Prime Rib was excellent the service was fantasic. Being there for the first time it was the best meal for the first night. The ONLY thing that I would say negative is that it need more lighting inside otherwise it get rating of 5 in my book.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cato, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tavern Dinner”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We ate dinner in the tavern located in the basement of the Doddin House. It was fun to eat by candlelight. We have dined in the upstairs restaurant before and found the food lacking at that price point. This year we wanted to try the more moderate priced tavern and stuck with the more simple dishes. Enjoyed the roasted chicken dinner and the opened faced reuben sandwich. Quarters are tight here, you have to stand up to let people get to their chairs at other tables. Would eat here again for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HanfordIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I took my husband to the Dobbin House Tavern for his birthday dinner. We loved the ambience & atmosphere (it's basically a basement, mostly lit by candlelight). Overall, we were a bit disappointed. It was very crouded. The food, for what we got, was overpriced. We got 1 appetizer, 2 beers each, dinner, and the bill was $80. He got NY strip steak, which was very small. I got Maryland crab cakes, which were tiny. Each comes with a baked potato. For $80, we were at least hoping for a better meal.

After dinner, we were able to tour the 'slave room', which was cool. They also allowed us to go upstairs & see the more formal dining rooms, which also looked neat. Perhaps we should try eating upstairs next time.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jrsydevil82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dobbin House Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Dobbin House Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing