We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forward To The Past In Gettysburg”

Dobbin House Tavern
Ranked #5 of 130 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Frankfort, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Forward To The Past In Gettysburg”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

When traveling, whenever possible, we like to dine in historic restaurants and taverns featuring food, drink, and service of the period. Dobbin House Tavern met this criteria very well. Everything about our experience was “Colonial America”; building, menu, and staff appearance.
We were taken to our table by friendly and efficient front desk personnel. Soon after our server, professional and efficient but not overly friendly, was tableside to begin taking our dining requests.
We began the dinner with a nice bottle of wine, our custom. My wife chose the Imperial Crab entrée while I went with the Crabmeat A La Dobbin M/P. Both were excellent; well prepared, flavorful, rich, and tasty. Portions were very generous. With the sides that we had with the meal we had no room for desert.
A dining experience that should not be missed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TKCRhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,927 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,194
    1,094
    445
    124
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lumberton, New Jersey, United States
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food, awesome decor!”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I really enjoyed my meal at the Dobbin House. The food was excellent, from the fresh baked bread to the dessert. The portions are fairly sized - not too large or small. Prices were a bit higher than I am used to paying but well worth it. Definitely need reservations and dress is casual. And be sure to check out the portion of the house used in the Underground Railroad:)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Atmosphere is great, service was wonderful and food was delicious.”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I ordered the Imperial Crab which was delicious, came with a nice baked potato, the breads were a great assortment and warm (pumpkin bread, chocolate chip muffins and white bread). Our server was very nice and willing to ask for our food to be hurried up so we could make it to our ghost tour.

Anyway, I'd gladly go again. Delicious and worth the prices for the atmosphere!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kln9597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochranville, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best place in town”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I believe the oldest building in town; the atmosphere is wonderful and food even better. High quality entrees; friendly, prompt service. Also a tavern room that looked charming and inviting, though we didn't eat there. (This time!)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bensalem, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best in Gettysburg”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Our dinner was the best. I had prime rib done the way I aced and my wife had crab cakes. Great wine selection and dessert menu. Make this a stop on your visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chuckowzky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dobbin House Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Dobbin House Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing