We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HISTORICAL GATHERING TO HONOR ELIZABETH THORN STATUE”

Dobbin House Tavern
Ranked #5 of 130 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“HISTORICAL GATHERING TO HONOR ELIZABETH THORN STATUE”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had a wonderful time. Our 90 year old friend, Ruth, was the center of attention. She is the great granddaughter of Elizabeth Thorn(statue0, at the Evergreen Cemetery.
Here, at the Tavern, we met with Linda Oatman High, the author of "The Cemetery Keepers of Gettysburg". Linda had 3 extra friends that came in at the last minute. Lauren, and the waiters downstairs immediately took over, and put 7 of us around a 4 top table as it was the only place. We did it! It was crowded, but Michael, our waiter took it with a grain of salt. The old Tavern atmosphere served our purpose well. The food was great, the conversation exciting as Linda was able to meet her Ruth, which connected her writing as a grander purpose.
We then met Lauren, the Hostess, upstairs for photos and chatting, You see, when I emailed Dobbin House firstly, to get reservations, I mentioned the story that Ruth is connected to, and the fact that she is 90 yrs old. Lauren phoned me to make sure Ruth could get down the old stone steps! No worries, Lauren, Ruth just bought a new car! They really take care of their patrons there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlanandKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,927 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,194
    1,094
    445
    124
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Mealtime Experience”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Fun meal at an historic Gettysburg home. Costumed servers, excellent service, good food. Pricey but worth it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Putting the Fine in Fine Dining”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The food is wonderful, but the service is impeccable. You enter from the side of the building and you are escorted to your table through the historic building with the uneven floors and dimly lit ambience. Our server, Deborah recited our options with ease and pleasantry. The dinner was well timed and not rushed. The fresh homemade bread was a great touch. I ordered veal, baked potato and spinach salad. I had the most tasty and creamy black raspberry ice cream for dessert. Everything was made to order and of the highest quality. We will absolutely return again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phillyfit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottsville
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Service and Food despite crowds!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have dinedat this restaurant previous to this visit, however, I was impressed with the quality of service and the food despite the fact that there were very many people in town to celebrate the 150th Anniversary. The waitress was pleasant and prompt, the food served hot and both meals were excellent!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfane, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Dobbin house and tavern is a wonderful place for lunch. It is a 1776 tavern with wait staff in period dress. The menu is written is old English with the history of the house. The food is wonderful. History buffs from the civil war would also like the tavern due to it underground railway connection. A great place for families. The tavern room has the old stone wall and spring in it that keeps it cool even in the hot summer .

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dobbin House Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Dobbin House Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing