We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep an Eye on the time”

Dobbin House Tavern
Ranked #6 of 132 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Fairfax VA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Keep an Eye on the time”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband and I celebrated Mother's Day at Dobbin House in Gettysburg. We had a very delicious dinner with champagne. Although the restaurant was busy, we got served in a timely manner and the food arrived hot.
We had asked the our server to hold off on the dessert for a little while. We were having a nice time and didn't want to push the evening along. This being said, after we had started on our dessert, some one from management came over to us and said with ALL to hear that we had over stayed our welcome by a half an hour, that there was another party that needed our seats and could we move it along.
This was rude and should have been handled more descretly and quietly. We will not return as were very embarrest by this and had no idea that we were causing a problem.
The management ruined what had the potential to be a nice and fun evening for us.
Our advice is that you come to this resturant with the alloted 2 and a half our eating time and don't expect to stay any longer!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank deedeeFairfaxVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,998 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,232
    1,110
    456
    129
    71
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

If you visit Gettysburg as a tourist and wish to experience the old Colonial lifestyle, then this is the place for you. However, if we lived a little closer then we would probably visit frequently. The ambience was great and the service very pleasant and helpful. The food was super, with a bread basket and salad included in your main course. The menu choices were varied and the descriptions made each dish sound wonderful. I had the Orange Roughy, which was catch of the day and I savoured every mouthful.
A must for anyone visiting the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Juze123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crambury, nj
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fun”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The Springhouse Tavern is an enjoyable experience because it combines just the sort of things you are looking for in a town such as Gettysburg. The food is good--a nice variety is offered and it is prepared and served well. The atmosphere is unique and seemingly historic to an extent that it adds to the reason you came to the battlefield: an old stone walled tavern with a low, timbered ceiling, candle-lit and casual. And the prices are reasonable, much more so than the full restaurant upstairs.
What makes this place unusual is that though this place caters to tourists, the food is not an afterthought: it is truly, unusually good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ilmagnific0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
360 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We had dinner in the Alexander Dining Room. The decor and era is Colonial, which is unexpected in Gettysburg with almost everything centered around the Civil War, so this was a nice change and reminder of the long history this town has had. The servers are dressed in period costumes and the dishes and wording on the menu also preserve the revolutionary era theme. The food and service was excellent! I had the crabmeat ala Dobbin entree and a drink called a "shrub" which contained Chardonny and razberry...very interesting and refreshing. My friend had the prime rib; another great entree. The portions were generous and their selection of homemade breads was not only very tasty, but interesting as well. We were much too full to even think of dessert. Since we were there on a Friday evening we had made reservations, which I would suggest on a weekend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JrnyJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely experience, excellent food.”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My husband and I ate here on Fri, May 10th. We had gotten reservations on the advice of a nearby shop owner, and were glad we did, since this place was very busy that night. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Our meals took a little longer to come than usual, due to the busy-ness of the restaurant that night, so our desserts were "on the house", which was very nice of them. The seafood bisque, which was a special that evening, was out of this world! The homemade breads were delicious. I had the pork tenderloin which was outstanding. My husband had the steak which he said was fabulous. I had marbled cheesecake for dessert, which was delicious and very rich. My husband had warm apple pie and ice cream which he said was great. Would definitely eat here again! Be sure to get reservations ahead of time, so you don't miss out on this great place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elkiedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dobbin House Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Dobbin House Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing