We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all around terrible experience”

Mamma Ventura Restaurant
Ranked #38 of 130 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“all around terrible experience”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Atmosphere is non-existent. The food is over-priced. The clientele sometimes leaves much to be desired. The servers make you feel like you're an inconvenience, especially when they vacuum next to you.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank GettysburgPAtrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    85
    45
    23
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sellersville, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good service and good food and reasonable”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Had a family dinner that was good and priced very reasonably. Four stars is a bit high, however, they deserve better then three. The service was very friendly and the food was good. Keep your expectations in check and you will enjoy your very fair priced meal. We spent $40 for a family of 3 with no alcohol.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank toolsales1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The pastas were very good (Shrimp linguini and ravioli), but the veal although very tasty was a bit tough and thicker than I usually see it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Two Thumbs up!”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Unfamiliar with Gettysburg, we were looking for a place to have dinner that was not in a "Ho Hum" 'chain restaurant' but was casual, kid friendly and affordable in the downtown area. Our party of seven were pleasently surprised by the ambience and character of this restaurant in historic downtown. We had made reservations the night before, requesting seating that would accommodate all of us, one being a disabled person and it was ready for us the minute we arrived. Our hostess was immediately attentive through out our meal. Mama Ventura's had a large selection to choose from on their menu. The children's menu had a variety of choices as well. Everyone ordered a different dish along with appetizers, drinks from the bar and their homemade deserts. Excellent all round! So glad we found this Gem! Kudos to the Chef, hostess and wait staff for a most wonderful dinner. We'll be back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rollingstone62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Not great- not worth stopping at!”
Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

We stopped here for dinner and were very disappointed. Service was incredibly slow and the restaurant itself was quite humid and uncomfortable. We waited forever to get water brought to us and for our orders to be taken. Food was fine but nothing great at all. I had the cheese ravioli which I thought had a very small amount of filling, my husband had the meat ravioli and our daughter had spaghetti. None of the meals were special or tasty. I've had much better Italian food at the olive garden! Ha! I would not reccommend dining here while in Gettysburg.

Helpful?
2 Thank twilightmom4sure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamma Ventura Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mamma Ventura Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing