We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too bad "1" is the lowest I could rate this place!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Parrot Bistro

Blue Parrot Bistro
Ranked #32 of 128 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located on the site of one of the earliest houses in Gettysburg, The Blue Parrot Bistro continues a tradition of hospitality, which began in 1850 with the Mrs. Schwartz's Oyster Parlor. The Oyster Parlor operated for eight years and then was converted to a private residence. During the Battle of Gettysburg, the residence was said to have housed "A good many surgeons," so it may have been used as a field hospital at the time. Mr. E. H. Minnigh opened a confectionary store here in 1868 and served those delicacies until his death in 1903.In 1920, the then-remodeled candy shop opened as the Blue Parrot Tea Room. Situated on the famous transcontinental Lincoln Highway (US Route 30), The Blue Parrot Tea Room quickly developed a national reputation. The Blue Parrot Tea Room continued to operate as the Adam's House Tavern.In 1988, Holly Giles, Gary Yount, and Chef Allison Giles purchased the historic building. With an appreciation for the tradition of fine dining and their interest in the preservation of old town Gettysburg, they opened The Blue Parrot Bistro.And now, what is a Bistro? Is it casual, homey, and relaxed or is it a sophisticated eatery? At the Blue Parrot we think that both apply. Eclectic furnishings are complimented by and ever-changing exhibition of artwork by local artists. Diners in black tie or blue jeans are greeted with the same friendly, unpretentious service. So, whether you are here for a cheeseburger, a beer, and a game of pool, or you are out for an evening of fine dining, you have come to the right place.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Too bad "1" is the lowest I could rate this place!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I ended up walking out of this place! We were left to stand at the hostess podium for 20min while several servers passed us by. A group of obnoxious, drunk senior citizens stumbled in and was waited on immediately. The majority of the tables were empty and when the hostess finally acknowledged us she asked if we had a reservation. When we said we did not she said she had no tables (oops we saw the paper! Only 2 reservations!) and said she could not seat us and maybe could find a place for us outside. Needless to say, we declined. With the abundance of excellent places to eat in this town, there is no reason to ever eat at the Blue Parrot.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tshifflett83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Parrot B, Owner at Blue Parrot Bistro, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
We would like to apologize to you and your guest for the experience you had at our restaurant. We appreciate your comment and hope that you would stop in and try us out in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    126
    52
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
129 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“details done right”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

active bar in front, quiet restaurant in rear. no flash, just excellent execution. professional unobtrusive service.
high quality fresh ingredients. chef to be commended.
small things right...bread plate, cloth table cloth and napkins, indirect lighting.good value. yes, liked this place a lot.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Parrot B, Owner at Blue Parrot Bistro, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you so much for dining with us! We are very pleased you had such a wonderful dining experience! We appreciate your business and look forward to your visit in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice little spot surrounded by history.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

This lovely little spot is just off the square in the historic town of Gettysburg. From the street, the restaurant looked clean and inviting. We were not disappointed when we stepped inside. We were seated at a window table where we could people watch while enjoying our delicious lunch.
Simple, reasonably priced and delightful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ANOUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Parrot B, Owner at Blue Parrot Bistro, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your comment! We are pleased you had such a nice dining experience with us! We appreciate your business and look forward to you visiting us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“food ok, setting better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Grading this very good not because the food or service but because it is a nice environment to meet friends and dine & converse. History to the place -- think ghostly visitors. Had I seen the menu before hand I would have picked another place but food was average. If friends want to go there again I would agree. Just not a favorite place for my appetite.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sundancer2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Parrot B, Owner at Blue Parrot Bistro, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
We are very sorry our food and service was not up to your liking. We appreciate your patronage and hope you visit us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresher, PA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Casual and central”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were staying next to the Blue Parrot Bistro and were glad to be close for a later dinner after a day of walking the battlefield.
The menu seemed to be lacking choices of a lighter fare with fish and vegetables.The salad choices were pretty generic. Most of the dishes with seafood had pasta attached. As a result I ordered a spicy pasta which had a wonderful blend of seasonings. My husband had a stir fry with rice balls. Both dishes were very good. Portions were extremely ample.
Seems like a local favorite.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sixela35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Parrot B, Owner at Blue Parrot Bistro, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for dining with us! We appreciate your patronage and look forward to your visit in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Parrot Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Blue Parrot Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing