We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Visit this museum!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rupp House

Rupp House
Ranked #20 of 99 things to do in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Visit this museum!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

What a charming, well-done museum! The Gettysburg Foundation does a wonderful job with the Rupp House Museum, and it is so incredibly obvious that the volunteers staffing the house love their town and its history. The Battle of Gettysburg (and life in the months following) comes alive as visitors have the chance to experience it by engaging all senses- touch, smell, sight and sound. When visiting Gettysburg, don't miss this little gem of a museum!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 164ellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    37
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Thank You”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We became foundation members this year so we decided to check out the Rupp house and it was great, the staff at the door took the time me know us and it gave us a welcome feeling. Gift shop was great and the product and prices are perfect.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
219 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Well done interactive museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

The guide welcomes you at the door, giving you the history of the family and house. There are a number of interactive exhibits, especially drawers to pull out - and interesting for adults too! It is well done and full of interesting civil war facts packed in the small spaces of this historic house

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank nutrinut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Tonight, my family and I stumbled upon this gem as we were killing time waiting for a table to open up in a nearby restaurant. What a wonderful museum! First of all, it was free!!! Whoever heard of such a thing in a place devoted to tourism dollars. The next pleasant surprise was that it was interactive. That meant that my children (ages 3 & 7) were free to enjoy it on their terms. That immediately made me take a sigh of relief because everything is just so breakable in Gettysburg. Last, we were pleasantly greeted when we came in and the docent shared the significance of the Rupp House during the battle of Gettysburg with us which certainly taught me a thing or two.

This is a wonderful place to stop at if you are in the area. Please keep in mind that you'll want to have a few dollars in your pocket when you visit because there is a donation box in the museum to help support it as well as a very mementos that you can buy. Thanks Friends of Gettysburg for bringing us this wonderful experience!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olyphant , pa
Level Contributor
122 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Must see!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

This house is usually opren on weekends. It tells a civilian story of the war. Very interesting. Free! Has different programs.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank mimikk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rupp House also viewed

 

Been to Rupp House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing