We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure what they are Aspiring to” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aspire Gettysburg Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aspire Gettysburg Hotel
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
State College, PA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Not sure what they are Aspiring to”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was booked here as part of a group event, and can't say I would recommend this property unless you, or your children, are into go-carts and mini golf (there is a big facility with both 200 yards from the hotel), and everything in Gettysburg proper is booked (this place is several miles outside of town). The Aspire looks like a Days Inn, and the decor is no better. If you are thinking about staying here be sure to look at reviews of the Eisenhower Conference Center, since this is really just a newer wing of that hotel- you will be swimming in their old indoor pool, and eating at their lackluster restaurant. You also have access to their park shuttle, which is a real bonus. And the grounds have their charms. My daughter particularly liked a marsh in front of the Eisenhower where we saw a snake, frogs, and red winged blackbirds. Overall the Aspire is fairly depressing on the inside. Some might actually prefer the Eisenhower, since it, at least, has some charm.From what I saw the rooms at the Aspire were definitely "nicer" than those in the Eisenhower. They are very spacious, with big comfortable beds, coffee makers, microwaves, and refrigerators. Our room was very clean, although I wouldn't say the same about the hallways, noisy, slow elevators, or lobby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PSU_travel_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsOfDistinction, Manager at Aspire Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear PSU_travel_mom,

Thanks for staying with us at the Aspire Gettysburg Hotel and for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor. We appreciate both, but wish we could have exceeded your expectations.

However, we are pleased that you found Aspirer’s rooms to be "very spacious, with big comfortable beds, coffee makers, microwaves, and refrigerators." And we are pleased that you wrote "Our room was very clean". This is great to hear!

The Aspire Gettysburg Hotel is a new hotel in Gettysburg, we opened in late April 2013. We have flat screen TV's, new furniture and offer a complimentary breakfast...none of this is true for Eisenhower guests.

And while we are connected to the Eisenhower and guests may share the indoor pool (which was upgraded in May 2013); Aspire is NOT Eisenhower, but we are very close to the Gettysburg Family Amusement Complex...with Go Karts, Mini Golf, Video Arcade and soon to open...Laser Tag.

Anyway, we appreciate your comments and learn from everyone.

Thanks.

DRH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    47
    35
    14
    10
See reviews for
53
41
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Aspire is the recently renovated wing of the venerable Eisenhower Hotel and Convention Center just south of Gettysburg. The hotel is situated on a beautiful property out in the countryside a few miles from the Gettysburg battlefield.

My wife and I stayed there two nights in April 2013. We found our room to have up-to-date furnishings, new bath fixtures, new carpet, and attractive decor. The bed was comfortable. We were disappointed, however, to learn that their website was in error when it said that amenities include a free continental breakfast. There was NO complimentary breakfast, although the nice lady in the deli in the Eisenhower hotel next door did compliment my shirt when I bought breakfast ($16 for two coffees and two breakfast sandwiches). Hopefully by the time you read this review, they will have either begun offering the breakfast or fixed their website, but do confirm by phone if this amenity is important to you.

Sadly, the walls of this older hotel must not have any sort of insulation or sound proofing. On both nights we were able to hear every word spoken by the couple in the adjoining room. Clearly and distinctly. The crying baby in their room on the second night ensured that we got very little sleep. It was as if the adjoining door blocked sight, but not sound.

Other than the deli, we didn't get a chance to try the onsite restaurant. Note that there is no restaurant or any other sort of shop in the Aspire itself, they are all in the Eisenhower Hotel. There is an enclosed walkway from the Aspire over to the Eisenhower.

Bottom line: I would stay in the Aspire again, but only if I were booking adjoining rooms.

Room Tip: The stairwell doors at the end of each hallway SLAM loudly when they close, so try to avoid the last...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dgvid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here, or actually at the newer section now called the Aspire Hotel, last weekend. I expected it to be about equal in quality with a Hampton Inn or Holiday Inn. The exterior of the hotel is beautiful, which is what led me to think that. Our experience was disappointing. The website claims they have a free continental breakfast, but the only thing we could find was an area of tables and chairs and VENDING MACHINES. My husband ended up going next door to the Eisenhower's deli to buy breakfast for us. And actually, the comment card in our room also mentioned a restaurant and room service, which was astounding since we could find no evidence of either! No mention of them by the front desk staff and no in-room flyers or information cards.

The room was also very substandard. The walls were paper thin, so we could very clearly hear conversations of people passing down the hall and in the next rooms. One night we had to listen to a baby screaming next door for at least three hours, and it's mom and dad talking and trying to comfort it. It would get quiet for about half an hour and then start screaming again, rinse and repeat.

It's my understanding that this is a new hotel. I find it hard to believe, though, because the tub faucet was clearly old and sticky, the mattresses and bedding were old, the pillows were old and flat, either the tv or the remote wouldn't work. It was about the same quality level as a roadside motel, sad to say.

On the plus side, kudos for the free wireless internet which worked well. This is an item that many even 5-star hotels screw up, but the Eisenhower did not. The front desk staff were friendly, but they should tell guests about the breakfast and other amenities (if they exist) when you check in. They did not.

I hear they're continuing to make improvements over the coming year. I hope they do and that my feedback helps them know what areas to focus on.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon-wefewfraerfwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gettysburg hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center
6.6 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 2,133 reviews
4.1 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#9 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,379 reviews
7.2 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Lodges at Gettysburg
The Lodges at Gettysburg
#16 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspire Gettysburg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspire Gettysburg Hotel

Property: Aspire Gettysburg Hotel
Address: 2634-A Emmitsburg Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aspire Gettysburg Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aspire Gettysburg Hotel is Gettysburg's newest full service hotel. We offer large spacious rooms, family friendly bathrooms, and Double King accommodations. Plus, free WIFI and use of our indoor pool and fitness center are provided. We also feature plenty of private group meeting space. Check-in is at 3pm. Check-out is 11am. Cancellation Policy: 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Aspire Gettysburg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing