We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Welcome Retreat"”
other travelers have booked this property
Our Pre Civil War Home Your Home Away From Home
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our Pre Civil War Home Your Home Away From Home
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Our Pre Civil War Home Your Home Away From Home
Enclosed Porch off of 1st floor Bedroom
Hallway
Gorgeous Clock
Laundry Room located Downstairs
Upstairs Hallway
Cute Home Rules
Front Bedroom
Front Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dame1214
Guys Mills, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Welcome Retreat"”
Reviewed May 15, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
3
people found this review helpful

My husband & I recently stayed at the Gettysburg Retreat for a reunion with two college roommates & their spouses. The Gettysburg Retreat is comfortable, very clean, and attractively decorated with rustic country items. It is spacious with three bedrooms and a bath upstairs plus a downstairs bedroom and bath. The kitchen is large and the dining table large enough to accommodate a group of 6-10 guests. The small porch attached to the house allows for a private setting with 2 benches and a small table -- perfect for pre-dinner drinks
and conversation. The Retreat is located near the historic downtown area, Kennie's Market, and the Segway Tour office. Sandee has supplied many Civil War books and videos to enhance the guests' stay. The six of us enjoyed the house and our stay in Gettysburg.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: spaciousness of the house; accessibility to downtown Gettysburg
Liked least: Traffic noise, but that quieted down at night and we were not around during the day
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan F
Cleveland OH
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great choice for a Gettysburg stay!”
Reviewed September 30, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

I really enjoyed our stay here - great location, cool/lovely house, very well-equipped and comfortable. I liked the "in house book store" idea, the patio and the 3-season room.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Parking was a littel clunky - would've preferred being able to back our bike-laden vehicle up against a building.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Reviewed September 15, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
4
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CivilWarN...
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous Vacation!!!!!!!”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
5
people found this review helpful

We traveled with my daughter, son-in-law and 3 grandchildren, ages 10, 8, and 5. My husband and I have been to Gettysburg 7 times. We have stayed in all sorts of motels and hotels. This was, by far, the best place we stayed. The kitchen is well-equipped, the bedrooms are very comfortable, and the living room is spacious! This is definitely a "home away from home." TVs in all bedrooms and living room, WIFI, loads of towels, laundry room..... There is a supermarket across the street and the house is within walking distance of the square. Sandee the owner is very accomodating and has thought of EVERYTHING you could possibly need! This was the introduction to Gettysburg and its charms for our grandchildren. They are enchanted! We loved it and hope to return again!!!!!!1

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the amenities of the house
Liked least: There was nothing negative
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Reine...
Bensalem, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved, loved, loved!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
6
people found this review helpful

We absolutely enjoyed our stay here. The house was extremely clean, beds were very comfortable, and the showers had great water pressure. When we first arrived we were greeted with goodies on the kitchen table, which my girls enjoyed. We all loved the decor especially the hardwood floors. The house is walking distance from the main circle with a supermarket right across the street. First floor has a bedroom and a full bath which is great for people who cannot do stairs. My family will definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Felt like home
Liked least: nothing negative
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Reviewed September 6, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
5
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Roaring Brook Twp PA
Reviewed July 30, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
6
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing